Macau, FP2: Chevrolet domination

Huff was the fastest of the pack


By Olivier Ferret

16 November 2012 - 06:44
Macau, FP2: Chevrolet domination

In the second free practice the Chevrolet works drivers showed that the fight for the pole position in this afternoon’s qualifying session at Macau will be their own private affair.

Not only Rob Huff, Yvan Muller and Alain Menu set the three fastest laps in the session, but they also outdistanced the rest of the field, leaving Gabriele Tarquini’s SEAT and Tiago Monteiro’s Honda 1.3 and 1.9 seconds behind respectively. All the others were more than two seconds off the Chevrolets’ pace.

Just like in the morning’s session, Huff was the fastest of the pack with a lap of 2:31.061. He beat Muller’s 2:31.335 by nearly three tenths and Menu’s 2:31.630 by nearly six tenths.

Tarquini (2:32.420) and Monteiro (2:32.995) were classified in fourth and fifth, with Norbert Michelisz on top of the Yokohama Trophy in sixth (2:33.802) just ahead of local hero Darryl O’Young (2:33.814). Pepe Oriola, Tom Coronel and Tom Boardman rounded off the top ten.

Kei Cozzolino was forced to skip the session, as the ROAL Motorsport crew is still working to repair his car following the first practice crash.

A couple of drivers hit the wall during this session: Mehdi Bennani at the Lisboa bend and Stefano D’Aste at the Police bend. Both cars were only slightly damaged, although D’Aste had a scary moment because he spun in front of Franz Engstler and Célio Alves Dias who managed to stop a few inches from his stalled car.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Robert HUFF Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:31.061
2 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:31.335
3 Alain MENU Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:31.630
4 Gabriele TARQUINI SEAT Leon WTCC 2:32.420
5 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic S2000 WTCC 2:32.995
6 Norbert MICHELISZ BMW 320 TC 2:33.802
7 Darryl O’YOUNG Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:33.814
8 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 2:33.836
9 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 2:33.931
10 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC 2:34.488
11 Fredy BARTH SEAT Leon WTCC 2:34.492
12 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 2:34.632
13 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:34.938
14 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 2:34.974
15 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 2:35.079
16 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 2:35.498
17 Aleksei DUDUKALO SEAT Leon WTCC 2:35.850
18 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC 2:36.282
19 James NASH Ford Focus S2000 TC 2:36.349
20 Tom CHILTON Ford Focus S2000 TC 2:36.653
21 André COUTO SR Leon 1.6T 2:36.834
22 Henry HO BMW 320 si 2:41.451
23 Jo ROSA MERZSEI BMW 320 si 2:41.536
24 Eurico DE JESUS Honda Accord Type-R 2:43.515
25 Celio ALVES DIAS Chevrolet Lacetti 2:44.147
26 Kin Veng NG Chevrolet Cruze LT 2:44.423
27 Ka Lok MAK BMW 320 si 2:47.635
28 Filipe de SOUZA Chevrolet Lacetti 13:45.627


Motorsport news