Finland: the IRC’s most successful nation

With 14 wins



16 November 2012 - 08:56
Finland: the IRC’s most successful (...)

Finland has celebrated more Intercontinental Rally Challenge event winners than any other nation.

Drivers from the Nordic nation claimed a total of 14 wins during the six-year history of the IRC with 2010 champion Juho Hänninen clinching a record-breaking 11 triumphs. Anton Alén, Mikko Hirvonen and Jarkko Miettinen claimed single victories apiece for the country.

Although Hänninen (pictured) claimed the bulk of his victories for ŠKODA, his first, in Russia in 2009, came behind the wheel of a Peugeot 207 Super 2000.

Top five IRC event-winning nations
1 Finland 14
2 Italy 12
3 Belgium 9
4 Czech Republic 7
= France 7
= United Kingdom 7

Motorsport news