Macau, FP1: Rob Huff sets the pace

Tarquini was the best of the SEAT group


By Olivier Ferret

16 November 2012 - 03:05
Macau, FP1: Rob Huff sets the (...)

Rob Huff proved he is in the proper shape to try and clinch his first WTCC title by setting the pace in this morning’s first free practice. Under a cloudy sky that threatened rain, Huff topped the time sheet for most of the session.

On their first lap out of the pits the three Chevrolet works drivers set provisional fastest laps: Huff’s 2:34.409 was beaten by Alain Menu’s 2:34.164 and then by Yvan Muller’s 2:33.394. Menu improved further to 2:33.204, a time that was soon beaten by Tiago Monteiro’s Honda Civic that completed a lap in 2:33.203, one thousandth of a second faster.

In the second part of the session, Huff broke the 2:33 wall and jumped on top with a lap of 2:32.175. Once again Monteiro was able to respond and kept his second position with the time of 2:32.630. But both drivers had still a margin to go faster. Huff set the fastest lap for good at 2:31.899 and Monteiro cut another six tenths from his previous lap, clocking a 2:32.033 that placed him second ahead of Menu (2:32.870) and Muller (2:33.060).

Norbert Michelisz (2:33.319) and Mehdi Bennani (2:33.478) ranked fifth and sixth, topping the BMW patrol and the Yokohama Trophy. Gabriele Tarquini was the best of the SEAT group, seventh with a lap of 2:33.828.

Darryl O’Young set the 14th fastest lap after the bamboo-engineering crew spent the whole night to repair his car following yesterday’s crash during the test session.

Two drivers met with problems: Kei Cozzolino hit the wall at the Paiol bend and limped back to the pits, while Henry Ho stopped at the San Francisco bend on his first lap with a gearbox failure.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Robert HUFF Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:31.899
2 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic S2000 WTCC 2:32.033
3 Alain MENU Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:32.870
4 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:33.060
5 Norbert MICHELISZ BMW 320 TC 2:33.319
6 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 2:33.478
7 Gabriele TARQUINI SEAT Leon WTCC 2:33.828
8 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 2:34.235
9 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 2:34.378
10 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 2:34.812
11 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC 2:34.961
12 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 2:34.994
13 Fredy BARTH SEAT Leon WTCC 2:35.096
14 Darryl O’YOUNG Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:35.370
15 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:35.437
16 André COUTO SR Leon 1.6T 2:35.694
17 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 2:35.939
18 Tom CHILTON Ford Focus S2000 TC 2:36.505
19 James NASH Ford Focus S2000 TC 2:36.831
20 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC 2:37.543
21 Aleksei DUDUKALO SEAT Leon WTCC 2:37.966
22 Filipe de SOUZA Chevrolet Lacetti 2:41.670
23 Kin Veng NG Chevrolet Cruze LT 2:42.842
24 Celio ALVES DIAS Chevrolet Lacetti 2:42.927
25 Eurico DE JESUS Honda Accord Type-R 2:45.512
26 Jo ROSA MERZSEI BMW 320 si 2:45.638
27 Ka Lok MAK BMW 320 si 2:46.818
28 Kei COZZOLINO BMW 320 TC 14:00.285
29 Henry HO BMW 320 si -:—.---


Motorsport news