Imola, H+3: Davidson passes Sarrazin in the pits!

Race facts after three hours


By Olivier Ferret

3 July 2011 - 15:15
Imola, H+3: Davidson passes Sarrazin in

The no. 7 Peugeot 908 has retaken first place in the overall classification from its sister car, no. 8. The third hour was marked by an incident involving the no. 7 Peugeot 908 and the no. 2 Audi R18 TDI when Tom Kristensen was being lapped.

The two Peugeot 908s seem to enjoy better fuel consumption that the Audi R18 TDIs and spend around two laps more on the track between refuelling stops. The leader, Stéphane Sarrazin, saw Anthony Davidson looming in his mirrors just when Olivier Quesnel, the Peugeot Sport Team Principal, announced that his drivers were not authorized to fight one another.

Davidson who was quicker, waited for his team-mate to pit and then retook the lead after his own stop.

As Davidson was lapping Kristensen, the no. 7 908 and the no.2 Audi R18 TDI had a coming-together. Davidson was able to continue without problems while the Dane had a brief off-course excursion.

The two nos 12 and 13 Rebellion Racing Lola B10/60-Toyota coupes lead the petrol-engined cars by a comfortable margin.

No change in LM P2 in which Mathias Beche continues to dominate the category in the no. 46 TDS Racing Oreca 03 – Nissan.

In LM GTE Pro, Augusto Farfus (no. 55 BMW Motorsport, BMW M3) has taken over from Jörg Müller in the leading car. Giancarlo Fisichella (no. 51 AF Corse, Ferrari F458 Italia) has fought his way back to second in front of Pedro Lamy in the second BMW.

In Formula Le Mans, Mirco Schultis (no. 95 Pegasus Racing) leads from Tom Graves (no. 91 Hope Racing).

No changes in LM GTE Am although Nicolas Armindo (no. 67 IMSA Performance Matmut, Porsche 911 RSR) has opened up a big gap over Patrick Bornhauser (no. 50 Larbre Compétition, Corvette C6-ZR1).

Category leaders:
LM P1 : Anthony Davidson / Sébastien Bourdais (Peugeot Sport Total, Peugeot 908 n°7)
LM P2 : Mathias Bèche / Jody Firth / Pierre Thiriet (TDS Racing, Oreca 03 – Nissan n°46)
FLM : Mirco Schultis / Patrick Simon / Julien Schell (Pegasus Racing n°95)
LM GTE Pro : Augusto Farfus / Jörg Müller (BMW Motorsport, BMW M3 n°55)
LM GTE Am : Nicolas Armindo / Raymond Narac (IMSA Performance Matmut, Porsche 911 RSR n°67)


Motorsport news