Zolder - Race2: Tarquini stops Chevrolet

Yvan Muller and Huff in troubles


By Olivier Ferret

24 April 2011 - 15:30
Zolder - Race2: Tarquini stops (...)

Gabriele Tarquini put in a fantastic effort to claim his first victory of the season and stop Chevrolet winning streak after three consecutive successes.

Having inherited pole on the reverse grid as Barth was unable to make the field, Tarquini took a great start and managed to keep the Chevrolet trio behind. In the first half of the race the Italian did not offer Rob Huff any opportunity for overtaking and when the Briton tried to muscle his way past him, Tarquini proved he still has enough grit to defend the lead.

With Yvan Muller and Huff in troubles, Alain Menu and Tiago Monteiro went for the other podium spots, just ahead of Darryl O’Young who claimed his first victory in the Yokohama Trophy.

Polestar Racing’s Robert Dahlgren finished in seventh and become the first driver to score WTCC points in a Volvo car.

Key moments
Start – Bennani, Michelisz, Sonderegger and Engstler start from the pit lane
Start – Tarquini leads from Huff, Menu and Muller; Villa stalls his engine
Lap 1 – Poulsen crashes at the chicane
Lap 2 – Nykjær overtakes Dahlgren for ninth
Lap 4 – Taniguchi goes off at L. Bianchi and rejoins
Lap 6 – Muller drives wide at L. Bianchi, breaks the oil radiator and retires in the pit
Lap 7 – Huff and Tarquini make contact at Villeneuve; Huff cuts the chicanes, takes the lead but then drops down
Lap 10 – Taniguchi spins at Jerlamen Bocht and rejoins
Lap 11 – Sonderegger drives wide at J. Rindt and rejoins

T. Coronel: DNS; F. Barth: DNS; M. Lee: DNS; Poulsen: race incident; Y. Muller: oil radiator.

Pos. Driver Car Time
01 G. Tarquini Seat Leon 2.0 TDI 13 laps - 22m07.752s
02 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +0.448s
03 T. Monteiro Seat Leon 2.0 TDI +0.886s
04 D. O’Young Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +1.614s
05 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon 2.0 TDI +5.702s
06 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +5.901s
07 T. Dahlgren Volvo C30 +12.352s
08 N. Michelisz BMW 320 TC +16.721s
09 A. Dudukalo Seat Leon 2.0 TDI +20.141s
10 J. Villa BMW 320 TC +28.827s
11 M. Bennani BMW 320 TC +42.066s
12 F. Engstler BMW 320 TC +48.235s
13 F. Fabiani BMW 320si +1 lap
14 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +1 lap
15 P. Oriola Seat Leon 2.0 TDI +2 laps
16 U. Sonderegger BMW 320 TC +4 laps
17 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T DNF
18 K. Poulsen BMW 320 TC DNF
19 F. Barth Seat Leon 2.0 TDI DNS
20 T. Coronel BMW 320 TC DNS
21 M. Lee BMW 320 TC DNS
Best lap J. Villa BMW 320 TC 1m40.063s


Motorsport news