Zolder - FP1: Huff sets the pace

A few drivers provided creepy moments during the session


By Olivier Ferret

23 April 2011 - 10:18
Zolder - FP1: Huff sets the pace

Current championship leader Rob Huff posted the fastest lap in this morning’s practice session. The Briton drove his Chevrolet Cruze around the Belgian track in 1:38.531, leaving his team-mate and reigning world champion Yvan Muller two tenths behind (1:38.796).

None of the other drivers was able to break the 1:39. wall, with Michel Nykjær’s and Gabriele Tarquini’s SEAT TDi cars posting the third and fourth fastest lap (1:39.321 and 1:39.482 respectively), which relegated Chevrolet’s third man Alain Menu (1:39.486) to the fifth place.

Nykjær was also the fastest of the Yokohama Trophy competitors but Darryl O’Young was equally impressive in sixth overall (1:39.511) just ahead of Tiago Monteiro (1:39.524) and Tom Coronel (1:39.551). Robert Dahlgren clocked the 12th fastest lap in his normally aspirated Volvo C30 at 1:40.046.

A few drivers provided creepy moments during the session: Kristian Poulsen spun onto the gravel bed at Sterrenwacht, Fabio Fabiani completed a perfect 360 degrees at the Lucien Bianchi bend and Coronel flew over the kerbs at the Villeneuve chicane.

Pos. Driver Car Time Gap
01 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1m38.531s
02 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1m38.796s +0.265s
03 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon 2.0 TDI 1m39.321s +0.790s
04 G. Tarquini Seat Leon 2.0 TDI 1m39.482s +0.951s
05 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1m39.486s +0.955s
06 D. O’Young Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1m39.511s +0.980s
07 T. Monteiro Seat Leon 2.0 TDI 1m39.524s +0.993s
08 T. Coronel BMW 320 TC 1m39.551s +1.020s
09 M. Bennani BMW 320 TC 1m39.901s +1.370s
10 M. Lee BMW 320 TC 1m39.973s +1.442s
11 F. Engstler BMW 320 TC 1m40.001s +1.470s
12 T. Dahlgren Volvo C30 1m40.046s +1.515s
13 F. Barth Seat Leon 2.0 TDI 1m40.277s +1.746s
14 P. Oriola Seat Leon 2.0 TDI 1m40.326s +1.795s
15 J. Villa BMW 320 TC 1m40.423s +1.892s
16 N. Michelisz BMW 320 TC 1m40.502s +1.971s
17 K. Poulsen BMW 320 TC 1m41.228s +2.697s
18 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1m41.932s +3.401s
19 A. Dudukalo Seat Leon 2.0 TDI 1m42.203s +3.672s
20 U. Sonderegger BMW 320 TC 1m43.266s +4.735s
21 F. Fabiani BMW 320si 1m44.765s +6.234s


Motorsport news