Ten different WTCC winners so far this season

Michelisz and Muller have joined the list in Motegi


By Emmanuel Touzot

11 September 2016 - 16:20
Ten different WTCC winners so far (...)

Maiden 2016 wins for Norbert Michelisz and Yvan Muller at FIA WTCC JVCKENWOOD Race of Japan on Sunday mean 10 drivers representing four manufacturers have now triumphed in this season’s World Touring Car Championship, a record since the TC1 technical regulations were introduced for 2014.

After Rob Huff won the Opening Race in France back in April, Mehdi Bennani (once), Nicky Catsburg (once), Tom Chilton (once), Tom Coronel (twice), José María López (seven times), Tiago Monteiro (twice) and Gabriele Tarquini (once) have all tasted outright race success in the WTCC this year, to underline the hugely competitive nature of the all-action championship.

In 2014, nine drivers won races, three more than in 2015 when six drivers topped the podium places.


Motorsport news