Salzburgring, FP2 : Huff splits the Chevy cars

Another best time for Yvan Muller


By Olivier Ferret

18 May 2013 - 12:25
Salzburgring, FP2 : Huff splits the (...)

Chevrolet Cruze cars set three of the four fastest times during the second Free Practice session at the Salzburgring, with Yvan Muller again topping the timesheet.

Muller’s best lap (1:26.344) was set late in the session, but wasn’t quite enough to beat the time he set in FP1. Second fastest was Rob Huff in a SEAT León (1:26.928), while the best of the Yokohama Trophy competitors, James Nash was third quickest (1:26.995) in the first of the bamboo-engineering cars.

Just as in FP1, the session was again dominated by Chevrolet. Muller’s RML teammate Tom Chilton was the early pace-setter, before Nash set his best time on Lap 6. Muller was lucky to escape unscathed after a spin at Turn 1 to set the fastest lap time of all with around five minutes of the session remaining. Gabriele Tarquini also improved late in the session to set the fifth quickest time in his Honda Civic (1:27.200).

Apart from Muller’s spin, Norbert Michelisz also fell foul of Turn 1 and hit a tyre barrier after missing his braking point for the chicane. The resulting puncture saw the Zengö Motorsport Honda Civic limp back to the pits, while another puncture forced the Campos Racing SEAT of Hugo Valente to park up in the escape road after T1. The LADA Granta of James Thompson missed the session completely with a steering problem.

The two-part Qualifying session is due to begin at 15.00 CET.

Pos. Driver Car Laptime
1 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:26.344
2 Rob HUFF SEAT Leon WTCC 1:26.928
3 James NASH Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:26.995
4 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:27.054
5 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic 1:27.200
6 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:27.212
7 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 1:27.311
8 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic 1:27.426
9 Michel NYKJAER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:27.447
10 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 1:27.510
11 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 1:27.628
12 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic 1:27.654
13 Marc BASSENG SEAT Leon WTCC 1:27.812
14 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 1:27.949
15 Hugo VALENTE SEAT Leon WTCC 1:28.015
16 Fredy BARTH BMW 320 TC 1:28.027
17 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 1:28.169
18 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC 1:28.312
19 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 1:28.435
20 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY Lada Granta 1:28.626
21 Darryl O’YOUNG BMW 320 TC 1:28.722
22 René MUNNICH SEAT Leon WTCC 1:29.890
23 James THOMPSON Lada Granta -:—.---


Motorsport news