Nordschleife, FP2 : López leads damp session

Muller took sixth in the second factory Citroën


By Olivier Ferret

27 May 2016 - 10:21
Nordschleife, FP2 : López leads damp (...)

Free Practice 2 for the FIA WTCC Race of Germany took place in tricky conditions on a damp but drying Nürburgring Nordschleife, with José María López setting the best time.

Times came down throughout the one-hour session as the conditions improved and the order changed rapidly at the end of the session, with López being pushed down from first to 11th before reclaiming top spot at the chequered flag. His time of 9m41.561s was almost a minute slower than his benchmark in the dry Free Practice 1.

LADA drivers Gabriele Tarquini and Hugo Valente followed López across the line for second and third respectively. The team’s third driver Nicky Catsburg was also inside the top five, behind the top Honda representative Norbert Michelisz.

Yvan Muller took sixth in the second factory Citroën, just ahead of the Sébastien Loeb Racing-run version of Tom Chilton, who led the way in the WTCC Trophy once again. His team-mates Mehdi Bennani and Grégoire Demoustier rounded out the top 10 behind Tiago Monteiro.

After Honda worked overnight to repair his car following his crash at the end of Free Practice 1, Rob Huff again ended a session in the barriers, this time in a much lighter impact at Turn 1, proving that even the grand prix loop is slippery when wet. ‘Queen of the Ring’ Sabine Schmitz was also caught out by the tricky conditions, damaging her ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Chevrolet in an early off into the gravel trap at Aremberg.

Qualifying is next up for the WTCC drivers at 12h45 local time.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 9:41.561
2 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada 9:44.284
31 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada 9:46.414
4 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 9:46.828
5 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada 9:47.818
6 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 9:50.655
7 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 9:55.224
8 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 9:59.830
9 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 10:01.629
10 Grégoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 10:01.677
11 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 10:04.448
12 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 10:14.845
13 Ferenc Ficza Zengo Honda 10:16.161
14 Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 10:29.048
15 Sabine Schmitz Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 14:52.523
16 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Volvo -:—.---
17 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Volvo -:—.---


Motorsport news