Nordschleife, FP1 : López goes quickest, crash for Huff

Huff was reportedly unhurt in the impact


By Olivier Ferret

26 May 2016 - 20:30
Nordschleife, FP1 : López goes (...)

José María López took top spot in Free Practice 1 for the FIA WTCC Race of Germany at the Nürburgring Nordschleife.

World champion López set a best lap of 8m44.236s early in the one-hour session, finishing up a second clear of Citroën team-mate Yvan Muller in a reversal of the positions from Testing held earlier on Thursday.

WTCC Trophy competitor Tom Chilton took an impressive third, just three tenths away from Muller. Nicky Catsburg was fourth for LADA in front of Rob Huff, who triggered an early end to the session with two minutes to go after he crashed his Honda due to a suspected puncture. He was reportedly unhurt in the impact, but has been taken for checks.

Norbert Michelisz stopped on track early in the session with a throttle pedal problem, but got going again to claim sixth ahead of Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro. Mehdi Bennani and Tom Coronel rounded out the top 10.

Hugo Valente’s session ended early when he hit a barrier in his LADA, but he took 11th ahead of Polestar Cyan Racing pairing Thed Björk and Fredrik Ekblom, the latter hindered by a misfire, and Nordschleife star Sabine Schmitz.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 8:44.236
2 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 8:45.319
3 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 8:45.625
4 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada 8:46.646
5 Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 8:46.985
6 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 8:47.484
7 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada 8:47.613
8 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 8:49.049
9 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 8:49.543
10 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 8:50.527
11 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada 8:50.823
12 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Volvo 8:53.386
13 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Volvo 8:53.451
14 Sabine Schmitz Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 8:57.270
15 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 9:02.487
16 Ferenc Ficza Zengo Honda 9:08.583
17 Grégoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 9:10.611


Motorsport news