Monza - FP2: Pepe Oriola is an impressive fourth

Menu first, Tarquini second


By Franck Drui

10 March 2012 - 12:02
Monza - FP2: Pepe Oriola is an (...)

After Gabriele Tarquini had delighted the SEAT engineers with the second-fastest time in this morning’s first Free Practice session, it was the turn of Yokohama Trophy competitor Pepe Oriola to confirm the potential of the new 1.6 litre turbocharged petrol engine in the second session. Oriola’s SEAT León was fourth fastest in the session, beating the reigning World Champion Yvan Muller by nearly one-hundredth of a second.

For the second time today, Tarquini had to settle for second-best behind a Chevrolet driver. After Robert Huff had set the quickest time in the first Free Practice session, this time it was Alain Menu’s turn to beat the Italian driver; Menu’s time of 1:58.645 was over half a second faster than Tarquini (1:59.207), while Huff could only manage to set the third quickest time (1:59.212).

Oriola (1:59.303) was fourth, with Muller (1:59.311) fifth. Sixth fastest was another of the turbo-engined SEAT León cars - that of Aleksei Dudukalo (1:59.675) - while WTCC newcomer Alex MacDowall in a Chevrolet Cruze was seventh (1:59.769). The top ten was completed by the three BMW 320 cars of Alberto Cerqui (1:59.789), Norbert Michelisz (1:59.850) and Tom Coronel (1:59.882).

The SUNRED Engineering car of Andrea Barlesi fared less well. The León went off into the gravel trap at Ascari on only its third lap and could not rejoin.
The new-style Qualifying session begins at 14.30 local time.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Alain MENU Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:58.645
2 Gabriele TARQUINI SEAT Leon WTCC 1:59.207
3 Robert HUFF Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:59.212
4 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 1:59.303
5 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:59.311
6 Aleksei DUDUKALO SEAT Leon WTCC 1:59.675
7 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:59.769
8 Alberto CERQUI BMW 320 TC 1:59.789
9 Norbert MICHELISZ BMW 320 TC 1:59.850
10 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 1:59.882
11 James NASH Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:59.921
12 Gabor WEBER BMW 320 TC 2:00.029
13 Rickard RYDELL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:00.072
14 Tiago MONTEIRO SEAT Leon TDi 2:00.297
15 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 2:00.430
16 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 2:00.459
17 Darryl O’YOUNG SEAT Leon WTCC 2:00.762
18 Pasquale DI SABATINO Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:00.808
19 Tom CHILTON Ford Focus S2000 TC 2:00.969
20 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 2:01.259
21 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 2:01.333
22 Isaac TUTUMLU BMW 320 TC 2:01.654
23 Andrea BARLESI SEAT Leon TDi 2:02.690


Motorsport news