Monza - FP1: Huff pace setter in the first practice

Three Chevrolets in the top four places


By Franck Drui

10 March 2012 - 10:24
Monza - FP1: Huff pace setter in (...)

Chevrolet’s Robert Huff set the fastest time in this morning’s thirty-minute Free Practice session. His lap time of 1:58.679 was just under quarter of a second quicker than the SEAT León of Gabriele Tarquini (1:58.920) with the two Chevrolet Cruze cars of Yvan Muller (1:59.228) and Alain Menu (1:59.229) separated by only one one-thousandth of a second.

With three Chevrolets in the top four places, predictions that the team would extend its record of thirteen consecutive pole positions look to be accurate. The only driver to threaten that record appears to be Tarquini, whose SEAT is equipped with the new 1.6 litre turbocharged petrol engine. The fact that only he and Huff broke the 1:59.000 mark underlines the Italian driver’s positive comments about the engine’s early potential.

Fastest of the Yokohama Trophy competitors and fifth overall was Norbert Michelisz in a BMW 320 TC (1:59.565) while Tiago Monteiro (1:59.693) and Rickard Rydell (1:59.795) were sixth and seventh fastest respectively. The top ten was completed by Pepe Oriola’s SEAT León (1:59.866), Franz Engstler’s BMW 320 TC (2:00.05) and the Ford Focus of James Nash (2:00.195) which is making its first appearance in the WTCC this weekend.

The second Free Practice session starts at 10.45 local time, with Qualifying at 14.30.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Robert HUFF Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:58.679
2 Gabriele TARQUINI SEAT Leon WTCC 1:58.920
3 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:59.228
4 Alain MENU Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:59.229
5 Norbert MICHELISZ BMW 320 TC 1:59.565
6 Tiago MONTEIRO SEAT Leon TDi 1:59.693
7 Rickard RYDELL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:59.795
8 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 1:59.866
9 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 2:00.065
10 James NASH Ford Focus S2000 TC 2:00.195
11 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:00.403
12 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 2:00.432
13 Gabor WEBER BMW 320 TC 2:00.495
14 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 2:00.541
15 Alberto CERQUI BMW 320 TC 2:00.803
16 Darryl O’YOUNG SEAT Leon WTCC 2:00.878
17 Andrea BARLESI SEAT Leon TDi 2:00.952
18 Tom CHILTON Ford Focus S2000 TC 2:01.062
19 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 2:01.065
20 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 2:01.100
21 Aleksei DUDUKALO SEAT Leon WTCC 2:01.410
22 Pasquale DI SABATINO Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:02.052
23 Isaac TUTUMLU BMW 320 TC 2:02.358


Motorsport news