Marrakech, FP2: Lopez on top in red flagged final practice session

Catch me if you can time as WTCC champion Lopez tops Free Practice 2


By Olivier Ferret

18 April 2015 - 12:28
Marrakech, FP2: Lopez on top in red (...)

It’s ‘catch me if you can time’ in Marrakech with José María López continuing to set the pace by topping the Eurodatacar WTCC Race of Morocco Free Practice 2 times.

Driving a Citroën C-Elysée WTCC, the reigning world champion was under the lap record he set last season with a time of 1m43.540s. French team-mate Sébastien Loeb was also inside López’s 1m43.704s benchmark in second, 0.106s slower than the Argentine, with Yvan Muller third, Ma Qing Hua fourth and Tiago Monteiro leading the Honda runners in fifth.

Home hero Mehdi Bennani was sixth quickest with Toms Chilton and Coronel seventh and eighth respectively in their ROAL Motorsport Chevrolets. Rob Huff was 11th quickest for LADA but his crash into tyre barriers resulted in the 30-minute session being stopped slightly ahead of schedule.

Free Practice 2 was in preparation for Qualifying from 12h30 local time. Circuit Moulay El Hassan, a 4.545-kilometre street track, hosts rounds three and four of the 2015 FIA World Touring Car Championship on Sunday. Both 14-lap races will be shown live on television around the world.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:43.540
2 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:43.646
3 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:43.701
4 Ma Qing Hua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:43.825
5 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:44.189
6 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:44.272
7 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1:44.353
8 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1:44.399
9 Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:44.465
10 Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet 1:44.594
11 Robert Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1:44.749
12 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda 1:45.069
13 Dusan Borkovic Proteam Racing Honda 1:45.145
14 Stefano D’Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 1:45.626
15 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 1:45.959
16 James Thompson LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1:46.642
17 Grégoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet 1:46.746
18 Mikhail Kozlvskiy LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1:46.916


Motorsport news