Macau, FP1: Muller sets the pace

Lap times improved quickly


By Olivier Ferret

15 November 2013 - 02:35
Macau, FP1: Muller sets the pace

In a sunny morning Yvan Muller topped the time sheet in the first Free Practice session, posting a lap of 2:31.121 that left the rest of the field seven tenths of a second behind.

Lap times improved quickly as drivers gained confidence on the streets around the Guia hill. Pepe Oriola led for most of the session, setting provisional fastest laps of 2:32.284 and 2:31.964, before Rob Huff had a brief spell in top with a lap of 2:31.920. But eventually Muller settled the matter for good with only a few minutes left on the clock.

Oriola improved again towards the end of the session, moving up to second (2:31.838), ahead of Huff, Tiago Monteiro (2:31.937) and Tom Chilton (2:32.069).

The latter was lucky to escape a possible crash at the Mandarin bend on his first timed lap when he nearly lost the car and brushed the Armco barrier.

James Thompson posted the sixth fastest lap in the LADA (2:32.174) with Gabriele Tarquini’s Honda in seventh (2:32.384) and the first BMW of Stefano D’Aste in eight (2:33.158). The latter was also the fastest of the Yokohama Trophy competitors. Marc Basseng and Tom Coronel rounded out the top ten.

Campos Racing’s Michael Soong was the fastest of the Asia Trophy drivers, ranking 22nd ahead of Filipe de Souza and Henry Ho.

A few incidents were reported. Ng Kin Veng crashed into the wall at Police bend and his car was T-boned by Konstantins Calko’s. The Latvian rejoined despite damage at the front of his SEAT, however he was shown the black-orange flag and called back to the pits for repairs. Fredy Barth hit the wall at Fisherman’s bend but was able to rejoin.

Free Practice 2 is scheduled to start at 12.15 local time (5.15am CET) with the two-stage Qualifying session due to begin at 15.35.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:31.121
2 Pepe ORIOLA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:31.838
3 Rob HUFF SEAT Leon WTCC 2:31.920
4 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic 2:31.937
5 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:32.069
6 James THOMPSON Lada Granta 2:32.174
7 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic 2:32.384
8 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 2:33.158
9 Marc BASSENG SEAT Leon WTCC 2:33.233
10 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 2:33.415
11 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 2:33.488
12 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:33.811
13 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic 2:33.867
14 Hugo VALENTE SEAT Leon WTCC 2:33.940
15 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC 2:34.045
16 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 2:34.208
17 Darryl O’YOUNG BMW 320 TC 2:34.572
18 James NASH Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:34.652
19 Fredy BARTH BMW 320 TC 2:36.218
20 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY Lada Granta 2:37.244
21 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 2:37.306
22 Michael SOONG SEAT Leon WTCC 2:38.261
23 Filipe de SOUZA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:38.512
24 René MUNNICH SEAT Leon WTCC 2:38.524
25 Henry HO BMW 320 si 2:38.867
26 Konstantins CALKO SEAT Leon WTCC 2:42.251
27 Kin Veng NG Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:42.840
28 Jeronimo BADARACO Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:43.125
29 Joseph ROSA-MERSZEI BMW 320 si 2:43.515
30 Ka Lok MAK BMW 320 si 2:43.560
31 Celio ALVES DIAS Chevrolet Lacetti 2:43.803
32 Enrico DE JESUS Honda Accord Type-R 2:44.553
33 Yukinori TANIGUCHI Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:47.280
34 Kam San LAM Chevrolet Lacetti 2:48.762


Motorsport news