Hungaroring, Qualifying : López flies to WTCC pole

He beats Coronel by a large gap


By Emmanuel Touzot

23 April 2016 - 17:36
Hungaroring, Qualifying : López (...)

Citroën driver López was quickest in all three sectors on his lap in the Q3 shoot-out for the DHL-presented pole position to set a time of 1m46.109s, beating the benchmark set by Coronel by 0.609 seconds.

Chevrolet RML Cruze driver Coronel equalled his career-best qualifying result, the WTCC Trophy contender beating Honda drivers Rob Huff and Tiago Monteiro to a place on the front row. Polestar’s Thed Björk made Q3 and was a close fifth behind the two Hondas.

Hungarian hero Norbert Michelisz just missed out on a place in Q3 and will start the Main Race from sixth. Nicky Catsburg will share row four of the grid with Yvan Muller, with Fredrik Ekblom and Mehdi Bennani on row five.

Tom Chilton and Gabriele Tarquini missed out on the top 10 and will start both races from the sixth row of the grid.

In Q1, Muller only just avoided being eliminated, with Hugo Valente instead failing to make the top 12, together with John Filippi, Grégoire Demoustier, René Münnich and Ferenc Ficza.

Pos. Driver Team Car Q1 time Q2 time Q3 time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:46.261 1:46.399 1:46.109
2 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1:46.929 1:46.457 1:46.718
3 Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:46.706 1:46.349 1:46.833
4 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:46.843 1:46.419 1:46.895
5 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Volvo 1:46.722 1:46.493 1:46.980
---------- -------- -------- -------- --------- ---------
6 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:46.920 1:46.597
7 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada 1:46.859 1:46.725
8 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:47.358 1:46.824
9 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Volvo 1:46.993 1:46.831
10 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:46.813 1:47.078
11 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:47.247 1:47.159
12 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada 1:46.633 1:47.170
---------- -------- -------- -------- --------- ---------
13 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada 1:47.484 2:05.022
14 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 1:47.704
15 Grégoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:47.751
16 Rene Munnich Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 1:47.900
17 Ferenc Ficza Zengo Honda 1:48.707


Motorsport news