Hungaroring, FP1: Lopez fastest by far

Muller and Chilton follow



3 May 2014 - 09:45
Hungaroring, FP1: Lopez fastest by (...)

On a slippery tarmac that was drying after the night showers, lap times were dramatically improved as the session went on. Eventually José María López posted a fastest lap of 1:49.494 with only a few moments left on the clock, leaving his Citroën Total team-mate Yvan Muller 1.28 seconds behind.

Except for this huge gap from the Argentine, the rest of the field was close, with nine tenths covering the positions from 2nd (Muller) to 11th (Hugo Valente).

Tom Chilton in the ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML clocked the third fastest lap (1:50.905) ahead of Tiago Monteiro’s Honda Civic (1:51.071) and the third Citroën man Sébastien Loeb (1:51.155).

Gabriele Tarquini (1:51.182), Mehdi Bennani (1:51.238), Gianni Morbidelli (1:51.517), Dušan Borković (1:51.562) and local hero Norbert Michelisz (1:51.564) rounded off the top-ten. Rob Huff was the fastest of the LADA drivers, in 14th position.

In the TC2T class, Franz Engstler set the fastest lap (1:55.786) surviving a hot moment at Turn 6, when he lost control of the car and brushed the Armco barrier.

The second practice will start at 12.00.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:49.494
2 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:50.774
3 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:50.905
4 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC 1:51.071
5 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:51.155
6 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC 1:51.182
7 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC 1:51.238
8 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:51.517
9 Dusan BORKOVIC Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:51.562
10 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC 1:51.564
11 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:51.627
12 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:52.122
13 Tom CORONEL Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:52.287
14 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T 1:52.652
15 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T 1:53.182
16 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T 1:53.457
17 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC 1:55.786
18 Pasquale DI SABATINO BMW E90 320 TC 1:57.220
19 Yukinori TANIGUCHI Honda Civic S2000 TC 1:57.617
20 John FILIPPI Seat Leon WTCC 2:00.159


Motorsport news