Hungaroring, FP2: Citroën trio back on top

The three Citroën C-Elysée cars on top of the time sheet



3 May 2014 - 13:01
Hungaroring, FP2: Citroën trio back (...)

This time it was Yvan Muller who set the fastest lap (1:49.301) ahead of his team-mates Sébastien Loeb (1:49.474) and José María López (1:50.053). They all improved significantly on their last lap, a few seconds before the chequered flag was waved, demoting the Honda cars of Mehdi Bennani and Norbert Michelisz to fourth and fifth respectively.

Both Michelisz (1:50.344) and Bennani (1:50.281) had been provisionally leading the classification, proving that the Honda Civic is making steady progress. Tom Chilton (1:50.720) was placed sixth and best of the Chevrolet drivers.

Once again the LADA cars struggled to stay on the pace and Rob Huff was the fastest of the team in 13th position.

Franz Engstler continued to rule in the TC2T class, setting the fastest lap of 1:55.948 and beating his team-mate Pasquale Di Sabatino by one tenth.

The qualifying session will start at 14.30.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:49.301
2 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:49.674
3 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:50.053
4 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC 1:50.281
5 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC 1:50.344
6 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:50.720
7 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC 1:50.836
8 Tom CORONEL Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:51.165
9 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC 1:51.228
10 Dusan BORKOVIC Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:51.253
11 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:51.717
12 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:51.899
13 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T 1:52.228
14 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:52.243
15 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T 1:52.884
16 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T 1:53.101
17 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC 1:55.948
18 Pasquale DI SABATINO BMW E90 320 TC 1:56.067
19 John FILIPPI Seat Leon WTCC 1:57.617
20 Yukinori TANIGUCHI Honda Civic S2000 TC 1:59.527


Motorsport news