Al-Attiyah leads in Cyprus

As Prokop suffers a driveshaft failure



6 November 2010 - 10:41
Al-Attiyah leads in Cyprus

Nasser Al-Attiyah has moved back into the lead of the FxPro Cyprus Rally after fellow M-Sport Ford Fiesta driver Martin Prokop was delayed completing stage 10 as a result of a suspected front driveshaft failure.

Prokop has dropped to third place, 2m34.5s behind Roger Feghali in a Škoda Fabia S2000. Al-Attiyah also lost time on the stage in the dust created by Prokop’s slowing car. His lead over Feghali is now down to 17.7s.

As a result he will start stage 11 three minutes after Prokop after organisers increased the interval between the two cars.

Bryan Bouffier won the 31.70-kilometre test, the longest of the rally, to secure his fourth stage victory of the event.

After SS10:

01 Al Attiyah Nasser / Bernacchini Giovanni Ford Fiesta S2000 2h12m13.7s
02 Feghali Roger / Matar Joseph Škoda Fabia S2000 +17.7s
03 Prokop Martin / Tománek Jan Ford Fiesta S2000 +2m52.2s
04 Tarabus Jaromír / Trunkát Daniel Ford Fiesta S2000 +3m35.0s
05 Thomas Nicos / Loizides Angelos Peugeot 207 S2000 +4m58.0s
06 Kresta Roman / Gross Petr Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +5m02.6s
07 Tingirides Constantinos / Shialos Panayiotis Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +7m08.8s
08 Timotheou Charalambos / Laos Pambos Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +8m42.5s
09 Almari Misfer / Arena Nicola Subaru Impreza STI +9m24.8s
10 Polykarpou Panikos / Laos Savvas Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +13m12.6s
11 Çetinkaya Burcu / Güney Çiçek Peugeot 207 S2000 +13m39.7s
12 Loucaides Doros / Elia Stelios Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII +13m46.7s
13 Al Suwaidi Khalid / Beech Nick Subaru Impreza STI +14m05.6s
14 Savva Savvas / Papandreou Andreas Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +14m06.4s
15 Kruuda Karl / Järveoja Martin Suzuki Swift S1600 +15m24.5s

Motorsport news