Prokop increases Cyprus lead

Going fastest on SS9



6 November 2010 - 08:46
Prokop increases Cyprus lead

Martin Prokop has extended his overall lead of the FxPro Cyprus Rally to 23.2 seconds after beating rival and fellow M-Sport Ford Fiesta driver Nasser Al-Attiyah on Saturday’s opening stage, the all-asphalt 12.76-kilometre Alassa test.

The Czech’s soft-compound tyre choice proved better suited to the asphalt roads although he fears he might lose ground on the next two stages, which feature significant gravel sections.

Conversely, Al-Attiyah said he was expecting to lose ground on the Tarmac stage through his harder compound tyre choice in the hope he would make up for any time loss on the next two runs.

Prokop was 3.4s faster than French Peugeot 207 driver Bryan Bouffier.

Škoda driver Roger Feghali was third quickest.

After SS9:

01 Prokop Martin / Tománek Jan Ford Fiesta S2000 1h42m16.6s
02 Al Attiyah Nasser / Bernacchini Giovanni Ford Fiesta S2000 +23.2s
03 Feghali Roger / Matar Joseph Škoda Fabia S2000 +1m02.7s
04 Tarabus Jaromír / Trunkát Daniel Ford Fiesta S2000 +3m35.9s
05 Kresta Roman / Gross Petr Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +5m02.9s
06 Thomas Nicos / Loizides Angelos Peugeot 207 S2000 +5m44.5s
07 Tingirides Constantinos / Shialos Panayiotis Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +6m41.9s
08 Timotheou Charalambos / Laos Pambos Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +7m49.2s
09 Almari Misfer / Arena Nicola Subaru Impreza STI +8m42.4s
10 Philippou Andreas / Kourtellas Costas Subaru Impreza STI +10m52.1s
11 Al Suwaidi Khalid / Beech Nick Subaru Impreza STI +10m54.9s
12 Amiouni Nicolas / Duffy Killian Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +10m59.0s
13 Loucaides Doros / Elia Stelios Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII +11m39.1s
14 Polykarpou Panikos / Laos Savvas Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +12m03.1s
15 Savva Savvas / Papandreou Andreas Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +12m43.4s

Motorsport news