Vila Real, FP2 : Argentine WTCC aces shine in Portugal

“I am very happy and the car was amazing”


By Paul Gombeaud

11 July 2015 - 14:37
Vila Real, FP2 : Argentine WTCC (...)

José María López and fellow Argentine Néstor Girolami were among the star performers during Free Practice 2 for WTCC Race of Portugal.

López was fastest of all in his Citroën C-Elysée WTCC with Girolami (Honda Civic WTCC) third quickest in searing heat of the Vila Real streets, 0.279s adrift.

“I am very happy and the car was amazing,” said Girolami, who is making only his second appearance in the WTCC. “We pushed on new tyres to simulate the qualifying, which will be very, very difficult because one mistake can finish the weekend. We try to prepare and focus on the first step.”

Sébastien Loeb was 0.274s away from López in second with Ma Qing Hua fourth, home hero Tiago Monteiro fifth for Honda and Yvan Muller next up to make it four Citroëns in the top six. Rob Huff was the leading LADA Vesta runner in seventh with Mehdi Bennani the top Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy contender in eighth. Tom Coronel and Norbert Michelisz rounded out the top 10.

Free Practice 2 provided the final opportunity for drivers to work on set-up prior to Qualifying, which begins at 15h15 local time.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:00.155
2 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:00.429
3 Nestor Girolami Nika International Honda 2:00.434
4 Ma Qing Hua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:00.574
5 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 2:00.675
6 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:00.747
7 Robert Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 2:01.339
8 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 2:01.412
9 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 2:01.465
10 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda 2:01.766
11 Stefano D’Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 2:01.869
12 Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet 2:01.879
13 Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 2:02.912
14 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 2:03.146
15 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 2:03.194
16 Jaap Van Lagen LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 2:03.209
17 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 2:05.045
18 Grégoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet 2:05.148


Motorsport news