Japan Japanese GP || September 24 || 14h00 (Local time)

Valencia, FP1: Muller and Huff on top

The Chevrolet duo set the fastest times


By Olivier Ferret

31 March 2012 - 10:17
Valencia, FP1: Muller and Huff on (...)

Yvan Muller and Rob Huff were in a league of their own during the first practice session at Valencia’s Circuit Ricardo Tormo this morning.

The Chevrolet duo set the fastest times – 1:43.049 for the French, 1:43.145 for his English team-mate – leaving the rest of the field more than half-a-second behind.

Alain Menu completed a Chevrolet 1-2-3 by setting the third fastest lap of 1:43.693 and edged the best SEAT drivers by a few hundredths: Pepe Oriola in fourth (1:43.720) and Gabriele Tarquini in fifth (1:43.798).

Tom Coronel emerged as the best of the BMW patrol and was classified sixth (1:43.983) ahead of Norbert Michelisz (1:44.062) and Alberto Cerqui (1:44.080).

Tiago Monteiro’s SUNRED León (1:44.626) and Alexsei Dudukalo’s SEAT León (1:44.691) rounded up the top ten.

Team Aon’s Ford Focus cars struggled to stay on the pace; eventually James Nash and Tom Chilton ranked 15th and 16th, two seconds off Muller’s fastest lap.

A few drivers had moments in this first session. Tarquini, Charles Ng and Stefano D’Aste drove wide on the grass, Isaac Tutumlu spun at Turn 5, Coronel went straight at Turn 8 and rejoined by the shortcut, and Franz Engstler was fighting against his oversteering car.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.049
2 Robert HUFF Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.145
3 Alain MENU Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.693
4 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 1:43.720
5 Gabriele TARQUINI SEAT Leon WTCC 1:43.798
6 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 1:43.983
7 Norbert MICHELISZ BMW 320 TC 1:44.062
8 Alberto CERQUI BMW 320 TC 1:44.080
9 Tiago MONTEIRO SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.626
10 Aleksei DUDUKALO SEAT Leon WTCC 1:44.691
11 Darryl O’YOUNG SEAT Leon WTCC 1:44.793
12 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 1:44.921
13 Fernando MONJE SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.952
14 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon TDi 1:45.032
15 James NASH Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:45.081
16 Tom CHILTON Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:45.129
17 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 1:45.194
18 Gabor WEBER BMW 320 TC 1:45.287
19 Pasquale DI SABATINO Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:45.481
20 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:45.517
21 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 1:45.688
22 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 1:45.908
23 Isaac TUTUMLU BMW 320 TC 1:46.318
24 Andrea BARLESI SEAT Leon TDi 1:47.123


Motorsport news