Twenty-five cars on the grid at Monza

And fifteen teams


15 March 2013 - 20:48
Twenty-five cars on the grid at Monza

The 2013 FIA World Touring Car Championship proved to be in excellent shape, as twenty-five cars have been entered by fifteen teams in the WTCC season opener that takes place at Monza, Italy, on March 24.

The entry list features cars built by five different Manufacturers: BMW (8), SEAT (7), Chevrolet (5), Honda (3) and LADA (2). Twenty-four out of the twenty-five cars are full season entries; only ANOME’s BMW was entered on a race-by-race basis.

FIA President Jean Todt commented: “It is very rewarding for the FIA to see that the WTCC has attracted such a field and the interest of important car Manufacturers. Quantity and quality are both there, meaning that we should expect exciting races and a close fight for the title. This success is the best evidence that the joint effort put in by the FIA and championship promoter Eurosport Events are actually paying off.”

After the kick off at Monza, Italy, the World Championship will visit eleven other countries over four continents. The season’s finale will be at Macau on November 17.

Entry list - Rounds 1 & 2 – Monza, 24 March 2013

1 ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Rob Huff (GBR) SEAT León WTCC
3 Honda Racing Team JAS Gabriele Tarquini (ITA) Honda Civic WTCC
5 Zengö Motorsport Norbert Michelisz (HUN) Honda Civic WTCC
6 Y Liqui Moly Team Engstler Franz Engstler (DEU) BMW 320 TC
7 Y Liqui Moly Team Engstler Charles Ng Ka Ki (HKG) BMW 320 TC
9 Y bamboo-engineering Alex MacDowall (GBR) Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
10 LADA Sport Lukoil James Thompson (GBR) LADA Granta
11 LADA Sport Lukoil Aleksei Dudukalo (RUS) LADA Granta
12 RML Yvan Muller (FRA) Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
13 Y ANOME Jean-Philippe Dayraut (FRA) BMW 320 TC
14 Y bamboo-engineering James Nash (GBR) Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
15 ROAL Motorsport Tom Coronel (NLD) BMW 320 TC
17 Y Nika Racing Michel Nykjær (DNK) Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
18 Honda Racing Team JAS Tiago Monteiro (PRT) Honda Civic WTCC
19 Y Campos Racing Fernando Monje (SPA) SEAT León WTCC
20 Y Campos Racing Hugo Valente (FRA) SEAT León WTCC
22 Y Special Tuning Racing Tom Boardman (GBR) SEAT León WTCC
23 RML Tom Chilton (GBR) Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
25 Y Proteam Racing Mehdi Bennani (MAR) BMW 320 TC
26 Y PB Racing Stefano D’Aste (ITA) BMW 320 TC
37 Y ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport René Münnich (DEU) SEAT León WTCC
38 ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Marc Basseng (DEU) SEAT León WTCC
55 Y ROAL Motorsport Darryl O’Young (HKG) BMW 320 TC
73 Y Wiechers-Sport Fredy Barth (CHE) BMW 320 TC
74 Tuenti Racing Team Pepe Oriola (ESP) SEAT León WTCC



Motorsport news