Suzuka, Race 2: Coronel claims first victory

Chevrolet drivers focused on the championship


By Olivier Ferret

23 October 2011 - 10:30
Suzuka, Race 2: Coronel claims (...)

Finally Tom Coronel came back to the WTCC winning circle, claiming his first WTCC victory in the ROAL Motorsport BMW. The second one for him in the World Championship.

Chevrolet drivers focused on the championship and did not take the risk to try hazardous overtaking manoeuvres; Yvan Muller, Rob Huff and Alain Menu filled the positions from second to fourth, while Robert Dahlgren’s hopes were frustrated once again with a fifth place that could have been a podium without a misfiring problem.

Michel Nykjær encored in the Yokohama Trophy after a race-long close fight with Colin Turkington and Javier Villa. For the whole 23 laps the Dane was able not to open the least of a gap.

Gabriele Tarquini had another unlucky race and was stopped by a drive-through after a collision with O’Young at the start.

Key moments
A few minutes before the start a light shower dampens the track
Start – Coronel takes the lead while pole sitter O’Young is hit by Tarquini and spins off at Turn 1
Lap 1 – Dahlgren overtakes Menu for fourth
Lap 4 – Muller and Huff put the pressure on Coronel
Lap 6 – Dahlgren tries to overtake Huff for third, in vain
Lap 8 – Tarquini is given a drive through for hitting O’Young at the start
Lap 10 – Nykjær is chased by Turkington and Villa
Lap 12 – Tarquini retires after observing the drive through
Lap 15 – Menu overtakes Dahlgren for fourth
Lap 16 – Bennani is given a drive through for overtaking Dudukalo under yellow flag
Lap 22 – Dahlgren dives inside Menu at Turn 5 but doesn’t find a gap
Lap 23 – Coronel wins beating Muller by inches; Nykjær wins the Yokohama Trophy from Turkington

T. Monteiro, DNS: race 1 incident; F. Barth, DNS: race 1 incident; D. O’Young: race incident; G. Tarquini: withdrawn

Pos. Driver Car Time
01 T. Coronel BMW 320 TC 23 laps - 21m10.854s
02 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +0.558s
03 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +0.840s
04 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +1.576s
05 R. Dahlgren Volvo C30 +2.057s
06 M. Nykjaer SR Leon 1.6T +7.397s
07 C. Turkington BMW 320 TC +7.730s
08 J. Villa BMW 320 TC +8.292s
09 N. Michelisz BMW 320 TC +8.606s
10 K. Poulsen BMW 320 TC +8.901s
11 F. Engstler BMW 320 TC +9.477s
12 A. Dudukalo SR Leon 1.6T +15.744s
13 P. Oriola SR Leon 1.6T +22.668s
14 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +23.263s
15 T. Arai Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +23.541s
16 M. Kano BMW 320 TC +25.577s
17 H. Yoshimoto SR Leon 1.6T +26.926s
18 M. Bennani BMW 320 TC +33.610s
19 C. Ng BMW 320 si +34.092s
20 G. Tarquini SR Leon 1.6T DNF
21 D. O’Young Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T DNF
22 T. Monteiro SR Leon 1.6T DNF
23 F. Fabiani BMW 320 si DNF
24 F. Barth SR Leon 1.6T DNF
Best lap T. Coronel BMW 320 TC 54.012


Motorsport news