Slovakia Ring, Tests: Huff sets Slovakia pace

Ma Qing Hua second for Citroën


By Olivier Ferret

19 June 2015 - 14:15
Slovakia Ring, Tests: Huff sets (...)

Rob Huff has gone quickest in testing for WTCC Race of Slovakia to underline the continued progression of LADA Sport Rosneft and its new-for-2015 Vesta TC1 racer in the FIA World Touring Car Championship.

The Briton, the winner of the 2012 WTCC, set a fastest time of 2m04.967s around the 5.922-kilometre Slovakia Ring with Ma Qing Hua second for Citroën, 0.433s off Huff’s pace.

Hugo Valente (Chevrolet) impressed as the top Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy contender in third with Honda driver Gabriele Tarquini next up to make it four different car makes in the top four.

Yvan Muller and Tiago Monteiro, the winners of the previous rounds in Russia, were fifth and sixth respectively with Mehdi Bennani seventh, last year’s Slovakia winner Sébastien Loeb eighth, Jaap van Lagen ninth and WTCC champion and current championship leader José María López 10th but equal on time with van Lagen.

López’s fellow Argentine and former arch-rival Néstor Girolami impressed on his WTCC debut by going 12th quickest for Honda Racing team Sweden, one place behind Norbert Michelisz. Local hero Mato Homola was 18th for Campos Racing having earlier set the pace in FIA European Touring Car Cup testing.

The 30-minute WTCC test session was in preparation for Saturday’s Free Practice and Qualifying sessions.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Robert Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 2:04.967
2 Ma Qing Hua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:05.400
3 Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet 2:05.662
4 Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 2:05.738
5 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:06.172
6 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 2:06.247
7 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 2:06.300
8 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:06.325
9 Jaap Van Lagen LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 2:06.422
10 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:06.422
11 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda 2:06.534
12 Nestor Girolami Nika International Honda 2:06.690
13 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 2:06.838
14 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 2:07.271
15 Grégoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet 2:07.911
16 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 2:08.361
17 Stefano D’Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 2:08.565
18 Mato Homola Campos Racing Chevrolet 2:09.743
19 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 2:10.673


Motorsport news