Slovakia Ring, Qualifying: Lopez takes pole in his Slovak debut

Morbidelli and Monteiro will be in first row for Race 2



10 May 2014 - 15:05
Slovakia Ring, Qualifying: Lopez (...)

Juan María López took his second pole of the season in a lively and sunny Qualifying session at the Slovakia Ring.

The fact that the Argentine was visiting the track for the first time seemed no disadvantage whatsoever for Pechito, who beat team-mates Sébastien Loeb and Yvan Muller by over three and six tenths of a second respectively, securing another Citroën’s 1-2-3.

Norbert Michelisz and Gianni Morbidelli took fourth and fifth, allowing Honda and Chevrolet RML to be represented in Q3.

Q1 cast an unusual ranking, with ten cars within 8 tenths and Michelisz leading over Valente, Muller, Coronel and Tarquini.

Things though changed in Q2, where López took power, in a session that was red-flagged because of the incident that involved Tarquini, whose front bonnet got loose, covering the windscreen of the Honda which had to stop on track.

By virtue of their 10th and 9th position in Q1, Morbidelli and Monteiro will be in first row for Race 2, while the BMW cars of Engstler and Di Sabatino dominated qualifying among TC2 cars once again.

Qualifying 1

After Coronel (2.05.309) and Muller (2.05.114), it’s Norbert Michelisz signing what will be the best time (2.05.014) in a lively Q1 session, which saw the first ten cars within 8 tenths of a second. Hugo Valente put again a strong performance, clinching second-fastest time ahead Muller, Coronel and Tarquini. Loeb and López were sixth and seventh ahead of Chilton, Monteiro and Morbidelli, with Huff taking the last spot in the top 12.

There were turbine problems for both Bennani and Kozlovskiy, who could only do two laps each, while the mechanics worked on Loeb’s car (rear suspension) and Münnich had a couple of off-tracks. Engstler was the fastest man in TC2, ahead of team-mate Di Sabatino.

Qualifying 2

The ten-minute session was disturbed mid-way by a red flag, following the incident suffered by Tarquini, who had the engine cover of his Honda opening, leaving him with no sight and obliging him to stop on the track.

The Italian’s car was narrowly missed by Monteiro and Huff who were behind and had to go out of the track. In the meantime, Loeb’s mechanics were frantically working on the engine of his car.

Once the session resumed, Michelisz posted an excellent 2.04.680 which was only to be beaten by López (2.04.038) in the closing moments. Loeb took third ahead of Muller and Morbidelli, who makes it to Q3 for the first time.

Qualifying 3

Morbidelli was the first driver to take the track but remained two tenths behind his Q2 time. Then Muller signed a time of 2.04.541, two tenths under his previous time and Loeb took provisional pole with 2.04.284. With Michelisz staying three tenths off his Q2 time, the last driver on track, López had a good opportunity to go for the pole.

The Argentine had no hesitations and went under the 2’04’’ threshold, posting a time of 2.03.912 that beat all competitors.

Pos. Driver Car Time Q1 Time Q2 Time Q3
1 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 2:05.504 2:04.038 2:03.912
2 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 2:05.418 2:04.718 2:04.284
3 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 2:05.114 2:04.747 2:04.541
4 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC 2:05.014 2:04.670 2:04.903
5 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 2:05.805 2:04.783 2:04.931
---------- -------- -------- -------- ---------
6 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 2:05.570 2:04.870
7 Tom CORONEL Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 2:05.309 2:04.988
8 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC 2:05.405 2:05.363
9 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 2:05.031 2:05.429
10 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC 2:05.685 2:05.772
11 Dusan BORKOVIC Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 2:06.298 2:06.835
12 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T 2:06.493 2:07.002
---------- -------- -------- -------- ---------
13 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 2:06.914
14 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T 2:07.718
15 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC 2:12.390
16 Pasquale DI SABATINO BMW E90 320 TC 2:13.381
17 Petr FULIN SEAT Leon WTCC 2:13.508
18 John FILIPPI SEAT Leon WTCC 2:13.786
19 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T -:—.---
20 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC -:—.---


Motorsport news