Shanghai, FP2: Muller tops the test session

Björk is second



2 November 2013 - 05:05
Shanghai, FP2: Muller tops the test (...)

Yvan Muller’s RML Chevrolet Cruze set the fastest lap in today’s test at Shanghai. The freshly crowned WTCC champion posted a time of 1:55.643 with only a handful of minutes left on the clock.

Soon afterwards, James Thompson’s LADA hit a pile of tyres at Turn 4b and pushed it in the middle of the track, which forced the race director to wave the red flag twenty seconds before the end. This spoiled Rob Huff’s last attempt that looked good enough for second place.

The 2012 champion and his SEAT car seemed very much at ease on the Shanghai track and topped the session in the early stages, improving the fastest lap several times down to 1:57.327.

Halfway through the test Muller made his first appearance on top with a lap of 1:56.827; however he was soon demoted to third by Alex MacDowall’s 1:56.476 and Tiago Monteiro’s 1:56.538, before eventually regaining the first position.

Tom Coronel posted the second fastest lap of 1:55.836, with Tom Chilton in third (1:56.051) and Pepe Oriola in fourth (1:56.156). Thompson placed fifth with a lap of 1:56.269, ahead of MacDowall, Gabriele Tarquini, Monteiro, James Nash and Darryl O’Young.

Rickard Rydell ranked 11th, with Marc Basseng the best of the SEAT drivers in 12th and the Volvo of Thed Björk in 15th.

Mehdi Bennani did not post any time, as he was stuck in the garage while the Proteam crew was investigating on a supercharging problem.

Saturday will see the WTCC field take to the track for two thirty-minute Free Practice sessions, before the two-stage Qualifying begins at 14.10 local time (7.30 CET).

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:55.508
2 Thed BJORK Volvo C30 1:55.848
3 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:55.910
4 James THOMPSON Lada Granta 1:56.069
5 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:56.109
6 James NASH Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:56.196
7 Pepe ORIOLA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:56.204
8 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic 1:56.261
9 Rob HUFF SEAT Leon WTCC 1:56.341
10 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic 1:56.455
11 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 1:56.479
12 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 1:56.527
13 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 1:56.574
14 René MUNNICH SEAT Leon WTCC 1:56.708
15 Rickard RYDELL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:56.847
16 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic 1:56.946
17 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC 1:56.997
18 Hugo VALENTE SEAT Leon WTCC 1:57.017
19 Marc BASSENG SEAT Leon WTCC 1:57.036
20 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC 1:57.345
21 Fredy BARTH BMW 320 TC 1:57.496
22 Darryl O’YOUNG BMW 320 TC 1:57.533
23 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 1:57.926
24 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY Lada Granta 1:57.950
25 Yukinori TANIGUCHI Seat Leon WTCC 1:58.616
26 Filipe de SOUZA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:59.732
27 Henry HO BMW 320 si 2:00.586
28 Kin Veng NG Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:01.911
29 Ka Lok MAK BMW 320 si 2:02.726
30 Jeronimo BADARACO Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:02.774
31 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC -:—.---


Motorsport news