Salzburgring, Race 2: First victory for Nash

Muller passed Michelisz for 2nd


By Olivier Ferret

19 May 2013 - 14:40
Salzburgring, Race 2: First victory (...)

Following his second place in Race 1 James Nash, driving a Chevrolet Cruze, went one better in Race 2 and took his first ever WTCC race win.

His victory was also the first for the bamboo-engineering team in the WTCC and it meant that both the races at the Salzburgring were won by competitors in the Yokohama Trophy. Once again, Yvan Muller picked off the drivers ahead of him; starting from tenth on the grid, Muller finished in second place to record his second podium result of the afternoon. Norbert Michelisz finished third in the Zengö Motorsport Honda Civic.

Nash and Michelisz started the race alongside each other on the front row of the grid and for much of the race ran unchallenged at the head of the field. Behind them, Muller was doing exactly what he did in Race 1 and duly passed Michelisz on lap 11 to finish in second place behind Nash. Tiago Monteiro’s fourth place gave the Castrol Honda team its best result of the weekend while Michel Nykjær followed up his win in the first race with fifth place in Race 2.

Darryl O’Young and Stefano D’Aste failed to start because of damage incurred during the first race. The Stewards gave Charles Ng a drive-through penalty after they judged he had made a false start.

Key moments
Lap 1 – Nash first into T1. Contact between Chilton and Münnich at T1. Damage to the rear of Nykjær’s car. Chilton into the pits.
Lap 2 – Oriola passed Tarquini for 4th. Muller passed Huff for 7th
Lap 3 – Nykjær & Muller passed Tarquini for 5th & 6th
Lap 4 – MacDowall passed Huff for 8th. Drive-through penalty for Ng. Muller passed Nykjær for 5th
Lap 5 – Muller passed Oriola for 4th Barth passed Kozlovskiy for 12th.
Lap 6 – Thompson & Engstler passed Kozlovskiy for 13th & 14th. Nykjær passed Oriola for 5th. MacDowall passed Tarquini for 7th.
Lap 7 – Muller pressuring Monteiro.
Lap 8 – Muller passed Monteiro for 3rd. Barth passed Basseng for 11th.
Lap 9 – MacDowall passed Oriola for 6th.
Lap 10 – Contact between Huff and Tarquini
Lap 11 – Muller passed Michelisz for 2nd.
Lap 12 – Basseng & Thompson passed Barth for 11th & 12th.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 James NASH Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 12 laps - 17m36.853s
2 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +1.438
3 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic +1.818
4 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic +3.483
5 Michel NYKJAER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +4.064
6 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +4.574
7 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC +7.898
8 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic +9.025
9 Rob HUFF SEAT Leon WTCC +9.483
10 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC +9.859
11 Marc BASSENG SEAT Leon WTCC +13.627
12 James THOMPSON Lada Granta +14.145
13 Fredy BARTH BMW 320 TC +14.556
14 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC +14.857
15 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY Lada Granta +15.155
16 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC +16.223
17 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC +27.497
18 René MUNNICH SEAT Leon WTCC +41.749
19 Charles NG BMW 320 TC +46.282
20 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +6 laps
21 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC DNS
22 Darryl O’YOUNG BMW 320 TC DNS


Motorsport news