Salzburgring, FP1 : Muller sets the pace

Chilton 2nd, MacDowall 3rd


By Olivier Ferret

18 May 2013 - 10:05
Salzburgring, FP1 : Muller sets the (...)

The two RML Chevrolet Cruze cars of Yvan Muller and Tom Chilton set the two fastest times in this morning’s first Free Practice session at the Salzburgring.

Helped by the cool conditions, Muller’s best time (1:26.279) was over a second quicker than his pole-setting time from last year, while Chilton (1:26.680) and Alex MacDowall in a bamboo-engineering Cruze (1:26.698) made the top three an all-Chevrolet affair. MacDowall was also the fastest of the Yokohama Trophy entrants.

Behind the trio were the SEAT León of the reigning World Champion Rob Huff (1:26.806) and the Honda Civic of Norbert Michelisz (1:26.967). The best BMW was that of ninth-fastest Tom Coronel (1:27.218) while James Thompson’s Lada Granta was tenth, with a best lap of 1:27.255.

The right-left chicane at the end of the start/finish straight caught out several drivers during the session, with Coronel, Huff, Tiago Monteiro and Franz Engstler all needing to use the escape road. Turn 12 twice saw the SEAT of René Münnich spin before continuing and Pepe Oriola had to come into the pits after his door opened late in the session. The BMW of Darryl O’Young failed to complete a single timed lap because of turbocharger problems.

The second Free Practice session is due to begin at 11.45 CET.

Pos. Driver Car Laptime
1 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:26.279
2 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:26.680
3 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:26.698
4 Rob HUFF SEAT Leon WTCC 1:26.806
5 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic 1:26.967
6 James NASH Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:26.977
7 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 1:27.126
8 Michel NYKJAER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:27.160
9 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 1:27.218
10 James THOMPSON Lada Granta 1:27.255
11 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic 1:27.269
12 Marc BASSENG SEAT Leon WTCC 1:27.373
13 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 1:27.601
14 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic 1:27.700
15 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 1:27.710
16 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 1:27.712
17 Fredy BARTH BMW 320 TC 1:27.898
18 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC 1:28.236
19 Hugo VALENTE SEAT Leon WTCC 1:28.507
20 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 1:28.723
21 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY Lada Granta 1:28.984
22 René MUNNICH SEAT Leon WTCC 1:32.140
23 Darryl O’YOUNG BMW 320 TC -:—.---


Motorsport news