SS16: Gardemeister makes Ypres gains

Andreas Mikkelsen is once again the fastest



25 June 2011 - 20:14
SS16: Gardemeister makes Ypres (...)

Toni Gardemeister has moved ahead of Bernard Ten Brinke into eighth overall on the GEKO Ypres Rally after going fourth quickest on stage 16. Driving a ŠKODA Fabia Super 2000 for his own TGS Worldwide operation, the Finn is 6.3s behind Mark van Eldik in seventh place.

ŠKODA UK Motorport’s Andreas Mikkelsen was fastest through the stage, 5.1s quicker than Peugeot France ace Bryan Bouffier. Freddy Loix, who was third quickest, continues to lead in his factory Fabia S2000.

Guy Wilks drove through the last six kilometres of the 24.74-kilometre Heuvelland stage with a front-left puncture on his Peugeot UK 207. A rear-left puncture slowed Karl Kruuda, who is 37 seconds in front of the Briton with two stages of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge qualifier remaining.

Crews are now in Ypres for the penultimate service halt.

Overall positions after SS16

1 Loix Freddy / Miclotte Fréderic Škoda Fabia S2000 2h17m31.6s
2 Bouffier Bryan / Panseri Xavier Peugeot 207 S2000 +1m35.3s
3 Weijs Hans / Degandt Bjorn Škoda Fabia S2000 +3m19.9s
4 Sołowow Michal / Baran Maciej Ford Fiesta S2000 +5m08.1s
5 Kruuda Karl / Järveoja Martin Škoda Fabia S2000 +5m52.3s
6 Snijers Patrick / Gitsels Johan Mini John Cooper Works S2000 +6m02.6s
7 Wilks Guy / Pugh Phil Peugeot 207 S2000 +6m29.3s
8 Van Eldik Mark / Buysmans Robin Škoda Fabia S2000 +6m38.3s
9 Gardemeister Toni / Suominen Tapio Škoda Fabia S2000 +6m44.6s
10 Ten Brinke Bernhard / Thierie Davy Škoda Fabia S2000 +6m47.3s
11 Rossetti Luca / Chiarcossi Matteo Fiat Grande Punto S2000 +7m02.3s
12 Barrable Robert / Connolly Damien Škoda Fabia S2000 +7m12.2s
13 Andersson Per Gunnar / Axelsson Emil Proton Satria Neo S2000 +7m26.7s
14 Maurin Julien / Ural Olivier Ford Fiesta S2000 +8m02.0s
15 Langenakens Jonas / Beernaert Nico Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +8m52.4s

Motorsport news