Race 1 - Huff gives Chevrolet manufacturers’ title in Macau

Huff claimed victory in the first race


By Franck D.

21 November 2010 - 06:00
Race 1 - Huff gives Chevrolet (...)

Rob Huff claimed victory in the first race in Macau today ahead of the 2010 World Champion Yvan Muller, securing the Manufacturers’ Championship for Chevrolet. SR-Sport’s Tiago Monteiro completed the podium.

Norbert Michelisz won the Rookies race, his fourth place finish combined with rival Darryl O’Young’s retirement confirming the Hungarian as winner of the 2010 Rookie Challenge.
Kristian Poulsen was best independent in eighth giving him pole position for Race 2.

As the cars came through on the rolling start they got as far as the Resevoir bend before André Couto and Andy Priaulx clashed with Michel Nykjaer also getting caught up in the action. Couto and Nykjaer were out the race but Priaulx made it back to the pits with damage to the front-right of his BMW 320si. Darryl O’Young lost part of his front bumper but remained in the leading pack. Alain Menu ran wide from third hitting the barrier at Lisboa but continued down in 15th. The safety car was then deployed with the order behind now Huff leading from Muller, Monteiro, Farfus, Tarquini, Michelisz, O’Young, Barth and Coronel.

On lap five racing resumed but as O’Young got a tap from Coronel behind his spun across the track collecting Fredy Barth with both ending in the wall at Lisboa Bend. O’Young’s retirement gave Kristian Poulsen the lead in the Independents in eighth ahead of Mehdi Bennani in ninth and Franz Engstler in 11th.

The BMW Team RBM mechanics did some quick repairs to get Priaulx back out for the remainder of the race. Joseph Rosa Merszei spun at the Melco hairpin in his BMW while Huff continued to pull out a gap in the lead.

On lap nine Michelisz and Coronel began putting pressure on Farfus for fifth with the pair eventually finding a way through just before the safety car was deployed for a second time. Henry Ho had parked his BMW 320si by the wall in the Solitude Esses and as the marshals worked to recover the car the race finished under yellows.

Coronel was awarded a drive-through penalty for the incident with O’Young dropping him to 12th.

Huff crossed the line to take his third victory of the season ahead of the Muller, securing the Manufacturers Championship for Chevrolet. SR-Sports Tiago Monteiro completed the podium. Tarquini was fourth ahead of Michelisz.

Augusto Farfus was sixth with Alain Menu seventh for Chevrolet making a fantastic recovery after dropping back to 15th on the first lap to get a front row start Race 2.

Kristian Poulsen was the best independents in eighth, also claiming pole for final race of the season.

Pos. Driver Car Time
01 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 11 laps - 35m34.840s
02 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze +0.366s
03 T. Monteiro Seat Leon TDI +0.631s
04 G. Tarquini Seat Leon TDI +0.909s
05 N. Michelisz Seat Leon TDI +1.306s
06 A. Farfus BMW 320si +1.967s
07 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze +2.564s
08 K. Poulsen BMW 320si +2.823s
09 F. Engstler BMW 320si +3.503s
10 M. Bennani BMW 320si +3.998s
11 S. Hernandez BMW 320si +4.614s
12 T. Coronel Seat Leon TDI +4.770s
13 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Lacetti +8.465s
14 C. Campanico BMW 320si +8.961s
16 A. Romanov BMW 320si +9.439s
16 N. Taniguchi BMW 320si +13.059s
17 K. Chen BMW 320si +24.421s
18 P. Ma Honda Accord +26.043s
19 J. Merszei BMW 320si +27.592s
20 M. Kano BMW 320si +1 lap
21 H. Ho BMW 320si + 3 laps
22 A. Priaulx BMW 320si + 4 laps
23 D. O’Young Chevrolet Lacetti DNF
24 F. Barth Seat Leon TDI DNF
25 C. Turkington BMW 320si DNF
26 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon TDI DNF
27 A. Couto Seat Leon TDI DNF
Best Lap R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 2m33.560s


Motorsport news