Porto, FP1: Coronel fastest in first session

Tom Coronel leads FP1 at Porto ahead of Muller & Oriola


By Olivier Ferret

29 June 2013 - 11:45
Porto, FP1: Coronel fastest in (...)

Tom Coronel, driving a BMW 320 TC, set the fastest time (2:08.135) in Free Practice 1 around the Porto Boavista street circuit.

Coronel’s fastest time was set right at the end of the session, replacing Yvan Muller’s Chevrolet Cruze (2:08.334) at the top of the timesheet, with Pepe Oriola third fastest (2:08.385) on his debut in the Tuenti Racing Chevrolet.

Four different manufacturers – BMW, Chevrolet, Honda and SEAT – were represented in the top seven places, with less than six-tenths of a second separating those seven drivers. Behind the top three, fourth-placed Gabriele Tarquini (2:08.441) was the best of the Castrol Honda team drivers with Robert Huff (2:08722) seventh in a SEAT León.

Several drivers were caught out on the tight street circuit during the session. The LADA Granta of Mikhail Kozlovskiy sported a damaged rear wheel after brushing one of the concrete walls that line the track, while Hugo Valente’s SEAT hit the barriers at Turn 4 after the French driver appeared to miss his braking point for the corner. The RML Chevrolet of Tom Chilton was another car to encounter the track’s barriers when the Englishman slid sideways into the barrier at Turn 1.

Free Practice 2 is due to start at 11.30 local time, with the extended Qualifying session scheduled for 15.00.

Pos. Driver Car Laptime
1 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 2:08.135
2 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:08.334
3 Pepe ORIOLA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:08.385
4 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic 2:08.441
5 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic 2:08.490
6 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic 2:08.612
7 Rob HUFF SEAT Leon WTCC 2:08.722
8 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:09.294
9 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 2:09.412
10 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 2:09.413
11 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC 2:09.547
12 Hugo VALENTE SEAT Leon WTCC 2:09.684
13 Marc BASSENG SEAT Leon WTCC 2:09.773
14 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 2:09.797
15 Nikolay KARAMYSHEV SEAT Leon WTCC 2:09.841
16 Michel NYKJAER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:10.022
17 Darryl O’YOUNG BMW 320 TC 2:10.084
18 Fredy BARTH BMW 320 TC 2:10.564
19 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:10.780
20 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 2:10.780
21 James THOMPSON Lada Granta 2:10.912
22 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY Lada Granta 2:10.967
23 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC 2:11.083
24 James NASH Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:11.169
25 René MUNNICH SEAT Leon WTCC 2:13.206


Motorsport news