Marrakech, Tests: WTCC champion López fastest in Marrakech testing

"It’s just testing, there’s still a long way to go"


By Olivier Ferret

17 April 2015 - 14:07
Marrakech, Tests: WTCC champion (...)

José María López’s impressive start to his FIA World Touring Car Championship title defence continued when he went fastest in testing for Eurodatacar WTCC Race of Morocco.

However, Citroën Racing’s championship leader and Argentine hero isn’t getting carried away with his performance after he set his session-topping time on his final flying lap at the wheel of his C-Elysée WTCC.

“It’s just testing, there’s still a long way to go,” said López. “I always try every time I am in the car, we had a good feeling and a good set-up.”

López was 0.581s faster than team-mate Yvan Muller with local hero Mehdi Bennani third quickest and the top Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy contender. Hugo Valente impressed with the fourth best time in his Campos Racing Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 with Marrakech rookie Ma Qing Hua fifth for Citroën, despite a spin, and Tiago Monteiro the leading Honda Civic WTCC driver in sixth. Rob Huff was the fastest of the factory LADA drivers in 12th.

Testing took place in sunny and dry conditions with the ambient temperature reaching 26 degrees centigrade. The WTCC stars will be back on track on Saturday morning for Free Practice 1 at 08h15 local time.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:44.834
2 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:45.415
3 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:45.461
4 Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet 1:45.842
5 Ma Qing Hua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:45.867
6 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:45.895
7 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:46.279
8 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1:46.471
9 Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:46.485
10 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda 1:46.916
11 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1:46.966
12 Robert Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1:47.055
13 Dusan Borkovic Proteam Racing Honda 1:47.123
14 Stefano D’Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 1:47.346
15 Mikhail Kozlvskiy LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1:49.173
16 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 1:49.745
17 James Thompson LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1:49.848
18 Grégoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet 1:50.607


Motorsport news