Losail, Tests: López fastest in Qatar WTCC testing

Local hero Nasser Al-Attiyah was P16

By Franck Drui

26 November 2015 - 12:03
Losail, Tests: López fastest in (...)

José María López has made a flying start to the 2015 FIA World Touring Car Championship season finale by going fastest in testing at the Losail International Circuit earlier.

Citroën’s double world champion lapped the 5.380-kilometre track in a best time of 2m02.316s as he begins his bid for a season record-equalling 10th victory.

Norbert Michelisz was second fastest for Honda, 0.286s slower than the pacesetting Argentine with Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy rival Mehdi Bennani just behind. Michelisz heads Bennani by seven points in the title chase and the results of testing suggest a thrilling battle is in prospect.

Hugo Valente was the leading Chevrolet runner in fourth with Sébastien Loeb fifth for Citroën followed by team-mates Ma Qing Hua and Yvan Muller. Nicolas Lapierre was the fastest LADA driver in eighth with John Filippi and Tom Chilton completing the top 10.

Gabriele Tarquini was the fastest factory Honda driver in P15 but it proved to be a frustrating 30-minute session for Tiago Monteiro after a turbo issue prevented the Portuguese from setting a time.

Local hero Nasser Al-Attiyah was P16 in his Campos Chevrolet as he begins his WTCC adventure.

Free Practice 1 provides the next track action from 19h00 local time when the Losail International Circuit’s state-of-the-art floodlight system will be in operation in preparation for the WTCC’s first-ever night race.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:02.316
2 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda 2:02.602
3 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 2:02.805
4 Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet 2:03.361
5 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:03.405
6 Ma Qing Hua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:03.460
7 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 2:03.600
8 Nicolas Lapierre LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 2:03.788
9 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 2:04.052
10 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 2:04.583
11 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 2:04.596
12 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 2:04.886
13 Grégoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet 2:05.184
14 Stefano D’Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 2:05.269
15 Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 2:05.526
16 Nasser Al-Attiyah Campos Racing Chevrolet 2:06.272
17 Robert Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 4:47.576
18 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda -:—.---



Motorsport news