Saudi Arabia GP || December 5 || 20h30 (Local time)

Hungaroring, Tests: Michelisz heads Honda WTCC 1-2-3

Lopez only 6th


By Olivier Ferret

22 April 2016 - 13:20
Hungaroring, Tests: Michelisz heads (...)

Norbert Michelisz got his home round of the FIA World Touring Car Championship off to a perfect start by leading a Honda 1-2-3 in testing for the WTCC Race of Hungary.

Michelisz went to the top of the times in the closing minutes of the session with a time of 1m48.112s. Team-mate Rob Huff followed him across the line for second place, 0.369s slower, with championship leader Tiago Monteiro taking third.

“It’s a great way to start and the car feels pretty good,” said Michelisz. “There are still a lot of things to improve and we’re not sure exactly what the track surface is going to do over the weekend. But a Honda 1-2-3 is an ideal way to get things going.”

Monteiro led a large part of the half-hour session before being displaced by Mehdi Bennani with around 10 minutes remaining. The Sébastien Loeb Racing Citroën driver ended up fifth after Chevrolet RML Cruze racer Tom Coronel snatched fourth and the top WTCC Trophy spot after the chequered flag.

Reigning world champion José María López was sixth for Citroën ahead of the LADA duo of Hugo Valente and Nicky Catsburg. Tom Chilton was ninth in his Citroën, with Yvan Muller P10. Fredrik Ekblom was the fastest Volvo Polestar pilot.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:48.112
2 Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:48.481
3 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:48.836
4 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1:49.057
5 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:49.354
6 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:49.576
7 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada 1:49.660
8 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada 1:49.778
9 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:49.787
10 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:49.935
11 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada 1:49.941
12 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Volvo 1:50.026
13 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 1:50.641
14 Grégoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:51.354
15 Rene Munnich Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 1:51.970
16 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Volvo -:—.---
17 Ferenc Ficza Zengo Honda -:—.---


Motorsport news