Hungaroring, FP1: Tarquini’s LADA WTCC leads Polestar and Honda

Tarquini set a time of 1m47.929s


By Olivier Ferret

23 April 2016 - 10:25
Hungaroring, FP1: Tarquini's (...)

Gabriele Tarquini posted the best time in Free Practice 1 at the FIA WTCC Race of Hungary, as LADA, Polestar and Honda filled the top positions.

Delighted with the improvements made to the setup of his LADA Vesta from Friday, Tarquini set a time of 1m47.929s towards the end of the session, displacing Norbert Michelisz.

Fredrik Ekblom took second in his Volvo S60 Polestar, a tenth of a second slower than Tarquini. Michelisz was third ahead of Honda team-mate and championship leader Tiago Monteiro, with Nicky Catsburg fifth in the second of the LADAs.

Yvan Muller took sixth at the quickest Citroën driver ahead of Honda’s Rob Huff and Chevrolet RML Cruze driver Tom Coronel, who was quickest in the WTCC Trophy. José María López was ninth with Thed Björk 10th.

John Filippi failed to set a time after slowing on track with an apparent problem in his Cruze.

Free Practice 2 takes place at 12h15 local time.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada 1:47.929
2 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Volvo 1:48.037
3 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:48.182
4 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:48.238
5 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada 1:48.436
6 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:48.577
7 Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1:48.694
8 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1:48.734
9 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1:48.775
10 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Volvo 1:48.833
11 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:48.837
12 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:48.940
13 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada 1:49.228
14 Rene Munnich Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 1:49.584
15 Grégoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1:50.324
16 Ferenc Ficza Zengo Honda 1:50.787
17 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet -:—.---


Motorsport news