Huff fastest in Macau test

A disrupted session


By Olivier Ferret

14 November 2013 - 08:33
Huff fastest in Macau test

Rob Huff has the best winning record in Macau for WTCC, and in today’s test session he proved once again that he is always the man to beat on the Guia circuit.

In the late stages of the session, the 2012 World Champion drove his ALL-INKL.COM SEAT León car to clock the fastest time of 2:32.169, a mark that he improved further to 2:32.147 on the following lap.

The dying moments of the session provided plenty of improvements. Norbert Michelisz’s Honda Civic set the second fastest lap of 2:32.218, beating Yvan Muller’s Chevrolet Cruze (2:32.372) and the other Honda of Tiago Monteiro (2:32.693).

Pepe Oriola ranked in fifth (2:32.780) with Stefano D’Aste in sixth (2:33.314) and best of the BMW drivers and the Yokohama Trophy competitors, despite an early collision with Campos Racing’s newcomer Konstantins Calko at Moorish bend.

Chilton, Coronel, Thompson and Bennani rounded out the top ten. Michael Soong topped the Asia Trophy competitors in 22nd position overall, followed by Henry Ho in 23rd.

A few drivers had moments: Mak Ka Lok spun at the ‘R’ bend, Franz Engstler brushed the wall and was forced to pit for repairs, Yukinori Taniguchi crashed heavily into the wall at the Reservoir bend, which caused the session being red-flagged.

Friday will see the WTCC field take to the track for two thirty-minute Free Practice sessions, before the two-stage Qualifying begins at 15.35 local time (8.35 CET).

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Rob HUFF SEAT Leon WTCC 2:32.147
2 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic 2:32.218
3 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:32.371
4 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic 2:32.693
5 Pepe ORIOLA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:32.780
6 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 2:33.314
7 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:33.347
8 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 2:33.489
9 James THOMPSON Lada Granta 2:33.532
10 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 2:33.831
11 Darryl O’YOUNG BMW 320 TC 2:34.439
12 Marc BASSENG SEAT Leon WTCC 2:34.702
13 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:34.766
14 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 2:34.814
15 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic 2:35.767
16 James NASH Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:35.898
17 Hugo VALENTE SEAT Leon WTCC 2:35.925
18 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC 2:37.927
19 Fredy BARTH BMW 320 TC 2:38.455
20 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY Lada Granta 2:39.447
21 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 2:39.794
22 Michael SOONG SEAT Leon WTCC 2:39.986
23 Henry HO BMW 320 si 2:40.337
24 Kin Veng NG Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:43.221
25 Enrico DE JESUS Honda Accord Type-R 2:44.193
26 René MUNNICH SEAT Leon WTCC 2:44.281
27 Joseph ROSA-MERSZEI BMW 320 si 2:44.571
28 Filipe de SOUZA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:44.856
29 Jeronimo BADARACO Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:45.517
30 Celio ALVES DIAS Chevrolet Lacetti 2:45.559
31 Konstantins CALKO SEAT Leon WTCC 2:45.945
32 Ka Lok MAK BMW 320 si 2:46.050
33 Yukinori TANIGUCHI Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 2:50.468
34 Kam San LAM Chevrolet Lacetti 3:10.289


Motorsport news