Curitiba, FP2: Muller on top once again

Muller encored his practice 1 result


By Olivier Ferret

21 July 2012 - 17:09
Curitiba, FP2: Muller on top once (...)

Yvan Muller encored his practice 1 result by setting the fastest lap once again in the second session, ahead of his Chevrolet team-mates Rob Huff and Alain Menu, while Gabriele Tarquini kept hold of the fourth place.

The response of the second practice was pretty much similar to those of yesterday’s test and this morning’s first session. There is always the same quartet of drivers on top of the time sheet: Muller, Huff and Menu fight for the top three positions, with Tarquini trying to chase them.

After Huff had a brief spell in first, with lap of 1:23.710, Muller recovered the leadership with two fastest laps: 1:23.568 and 1:23.124. In vain Menu tried to improve from third; on his last lap he was timed at an impressive 1:21.186, but this was immediately disallowed by the race control as he had cut a chicane.

Tarquini ranked fourth (1:23.947), while Tiago Monteiro posted the fifth fastest lap (1:24.031) and managed to stay ahead of the bamboo-engineering duo of Alex MacDowall (1:24.150) and Michel Nykjær (1:24.262). The tree Toms - Boardman, Coronel and Chilton – rounded off the top ten.

No spins were reported during the session, although Charles Ng, Stefano D’Aste and Huff made trips on the grass in different turns.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:23.124
2 Robert HUFF Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:23.493
3 Alain MENU Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:23.783
4 Gabriele TARQUINI SEAT Leon WTCC 1:23.947
5 Tiago MONTEIRO SR Leon 1.6T 1:24.031
6 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:24.150
7 Michel NYKJAER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:24.262
8 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC 1:24.423
9 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 1:24.523
10 Tom CHILTON Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:24.575
11 Norbert MICHELISZ BMW 320 TC 1:24.673
12 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 1:24.877
13 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 1:24.893
14 Alberto CERQUI BMW 320 TC 1:24.914
15 Aleksei DUDUKALO SEAT Leon WTCC 1:24.952
16 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 1:25.149
17 Darryl O’YOUNG SEAT Leon WTCC 1:25.153
18 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 1:25.169
19 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 1:25.231
20 James NASH Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:25.234
21 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC 1:25.601


Motorsport news