Coronel ahead in second practice

No incidents were reported during the session

By Franck Drui

30 October 2010 - 06:05
Coronel ahead in second practice

Tom Coronel finished second practice in Okayama, Japan quickest in his SEAT León TDI. His first flying lap of the session, a 1:38.943, was never bettered leaving the Dutchman on top ahead of qualifying this afternoon.

All 27 cars were all back out on track for practices although despite a drier track, the fastest time of the day was still slower than the quickest set this morning.

Rob Huff (1:38.979) and Tiago Monteiro (1:39.105) also set their fastest times early on to finish second and third respectively.

BMW Team RBM’s Augusto Farfus (1:39.110) posted the fourth quickest time, ahead of Sweden’s Robert Dahlgren who put in another solid performance in his Volvo.

Alain Menu (1:39.421) was sixth ahead of Franz Engstler (1:39.443) who finished as clear leader in the Independents with his closet rival, Darryl O’Young (1:40.230) in 16th.

Norbert Michelisz (1:39.455) was the best rookie yet again in eighth with current championship leader Yvan Muller (1:39.567) ninth, the Frenchman having to return to the pits with 10-minutes to go as his left-rear wheel was loose.

Colin Turkington (1:39.579) rounded out the top ten.

No incidents were reported during the session, although Henry Ho was called back to the pit by the black-and-orange flag to fix the front bonnet closed.

Pos. Driver Car Time Gap
01 T. Coronel Seat Leon TDI 1m38.943s
02 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 1m38.979s +0.036s
03 T. Monteiro Seat Leon TDI 1m39.105s +0.162s
04 A. Farfus BMW 320si 1m39.110s +0.167s
05 R. Dahlgren Volvo C30 1m39.208s +0.265s
06 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1m39.421s +0.478s
07 F. Engstler BMW 320si 1m39.443s +0.500s
08 N. Michelisz Seat Leon TDI 1m39.455s +0.512s
09 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 1m39.567s +0.624s
10 C. Turkington BMW 320si 1m39.579s +0.636s
11 G. Tarquini Seat Leon TDI 1m39.653s +0.710s
12 A. Priaulx BMW 320si 1m39.660s +0.717s
13 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon TDI 1m39.722s +0.779s
14 F. Barth Seat Leon TDI 1m39.818s +0.875s
15 M. Rossi Seat Leon TDI 1m39.916s +0.973s
16 D. O’Young Chevrolet Lacetti 1m40.230s +1.287s
17 A. Romanov BMW 320si 1m40.410s +1.467s
18 S. D’Aste BMW 320si 1m40.473s +1.530s
19 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Lacetti 1m40.622s +1.679s
20 K. Poulsen BMW 320si 1m40.635s +1.692s
21 S. Hernandez BMW 320si 1m40.706s +1.763s
22 M. Bennani BMW 320si 1m40.801s +1.858s
23 Y. Ito BMW 320si 1m40.913s +1.970s
24 M. Yanagida BMW 320si 1m42.080s +3.137s
25 N. Taniguchi BMW 320si 1m42.160s +3.217s
26 H. Ho BMW 320si 1m42.755s +3.812s
27 K. Chen BMW 320si 1m42.824s +3.881s



Motorsport news