Priaulx takes pole at Okayama

Best times for the BMW drivers

By Franck Drui

30 October 2010 - 09:30
Priaulx takes pole at Okayama

BMW Team RBM locked out the front row of the grid for tomorrow’s Race 1 at Okayama. Andy Priaulx claimed his first pole position since Macau 2006 with the quickest lap of the weekend so far, a 1:36.972 that is also a new track record for S2000 cars. His team-mate Augusto Farfus (1:37.408) will start alongside him ahead of Chevrolet’s Rob Huff (1:37.441).

Norbert Michelisz (1:37.577) emerged as the best rookie in fifth position overall, while Franz Engstler (1:38.605) will start in tenth, best of the independents after also making it through into Q2.

Q1 – Michelisz initially posted the fastest time, but the BMWs quickly took the advantage with Farfus and Priaulx jumping on top of the timesheets. With seven minutes to go, French newcomer Michaël Rossi improved to seventh and secured his place in Q2.
The BMW 320si cars looked strong with Colin Turkington recording a great lap in the final minutes to go fastest of anyone at that point in all three sectors and jump ahead of the Farfus-Priaulx pair with a time of 1:37.264.
With no improvements as the flag came out, the top ten going forward into Q2 remained Turkington, Farfus, Priaulx, Huff, Michelisz, Tarquini, Muller, Engstler, Menu and Rossi who managed to reach Q2 on his first appearance in the championship.

Q2 - With the help of a slipstream from his teammate, Andy Priaulx secured his first pole position of the season on his only flying lap in Q2. A best time of 1:36.972 gave him pole from Farfus by 0.436s and the team decided not to risk an extra flying lap on the tyres to hopefully give the pair an advantage in the race tomorrow.
Huff posted the third quickest time (1:37.441) from Turkington (1:37.495), and Michelisz (1:37.577), who was the quickest SEAT driver of the day as well as being the top rookie in fifth.
Reigning champion Gabriele Tarquini’s (1:37.727) best time was good enough for sixth ahead of Chevrolet’s Menu (1:37.844) and Muller (1:37.913). Rossi (1:38.387) was the only driver to improve on his second flying lap to move up to ninth ahead of Engstler.

Pos. Driver Car Q1 time Q2 time
01 A. Priaulx BMW 320si 1m37.623s 1m36.972s
02 A. Farfus BMW 320si 1m37.455s 1m37.408s
03 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 1m37.690s 1m37.441s
04 C. Turkington BMW 320si 1m37.264s 1m37.495s
05 N. Michelisz Seat Leon TDI 1m37.707s 1m37.577s
06 G. Tarquini Seat Leon TDI 1m37.725s 1m37.727s
07 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1m37.805s 1m37.844s
08 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 1m37.767s 1m37.913s
09 M. Rossi Seat Leon TDI 1m37.809s 1m38.387s
10 F. Engstler BMW 320si 1m37.786s 1m38.605s
---------- ---------- ---------- ----------
11 T. Monteiro Seat Leon TDI 1m37.904s
12 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon TDI 1m37.904s
13 D. O’Young Chevrolet Lacetti 1m38.056s
14 R. Dahlgren Volvo C30 1m38.128s
15 K. Poulsen BMW 320si 1m38.156s
16 F. Barth Seat Leon TDI 1m38.171s
17 T. Coronel Seat Leon TDI 1m38.190s
18 S. D’Aste BMW 320si 1m38.540s
19 S. Hernandez BMW 320si 1m38.728s
20 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Lacetti 1m38.747s
21 A. Romanov BMW 320si 1m39.098s
22 Y. Ito BMW 320si 1m39.584s
23 M. Bennani BMW 320si 1m39.883s
24 N. Taniguchi BMW 320si 1m39.891s
25 M. Yanagida BMW 320si 1m39.927s
26 K. Chen BMW 320si 1m39.997s
27 H. Ho BMW 320si 1m40.681s



Motorsport news