Farfus puts BMW on top in Practice 1

Best time for the Brazilian

By Franck Drui

30 October 2010 - 03:10
Farfus puts BMW on top in Practice 1

BMW Team RBM’s Augusto Farfus posted the quickest time of the morning at the Okayama International Circuit. After switching to a 6-speed sequential gearbox, as his team-mate Andy Priaulx did yesterday, his time of 1:38.085 set halfway through the 30-minute session was good enough to keep him on top until the red flags came out stopping the session early.

With changing track conditions as the circuit dried out, Robert Dahlgren was first to set the pace, with his eventual fastest time of 1:38.605 in his Volvo C30 putting him second quickest. Alain Menu (1:38.612) was third in his Chevrolet Cruze.

Yesterday’s quickest man Rob Huff (1:38.759) was fourth this morning ahead of the fastest SEAT driver, rookie Norbert Michelisz (1:38.761) and Yvan Muller (1:38.816).

Andy Priaulx (1:38.861), Tiago Monteiro (1:38.869), Colin Turkington (1:38.918) and Tom Coronel (1:38.937) rounded out the top ten with Kristian Poulsen (1:38.981) fastest independent in 12th.

Morocco’s Mehdi Bennani didn’t complete a lap pulling off the circuit on his out-lap and being towed back to the pits with a rear axle problem. His Wiechers-Sport team-mate, Masataka Yanagida, was the cause of the late red flag with a possible engine problem that the team is still investigating which caused his BMW 320si to spill oil across the circuit.

With most the field failing to improve their times in the second half of the session, the only action was from Fredy Barth who ran wide through the gravel at the final corner but kept his SEAT going to rejoin.

Pos. Driver Car Time Gap
01 A. Farfus BMW 320si 1m38.085s
02 R. Dahlgren Volvo C30 1m38.605s +0.520s
03 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1m38.612s +0.527s
04 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 1m38.759s +0.674s
05 N. Michelisz Seat Leon TDI 1m38.761s +0.676s
06 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 1m38.816s +0.731s
07 A. Priaulx BMW 320si 1m38.861s +0.776s
08 T. Monteiro Seat Leon TDI 1m38.869s +0.784s
09 C. Turkington BMW 320si 1m38.918s +0.833s
10 T. Coronel Seat Leon TDI 1m38.937s +0.852s
11 G. Tarquini Seat Leon TDI 1m38.966s +0.881s
12 K. Poulsen BMW 320si 1m38.981s +0.896s
13 F. Barth Seat Leon TDI 1m39.106s +1.021s
14 M. Rossi Seat Leon TDI 1m39.154s +1.069s
15 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon TDI 1m39.220s +1.135s
16 D. O’Young Chevrolet Lacetti 1m39.362s +1.277s
17 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Lacetti 1m39.613s +1.528s
18 S. D’Aste BMW 320si 1m39.934s +1.849s
19 S. Hernandez BMW 320si 1m39.961s +1.876s
20 F. Engstler BMW 320si 1m40.050s +1.965s
21 A. Romanov BMW 320si 1m40.492s +2.407s
22 M. Yanagida BMW 320si 1m40.631s +2.546s
23 Y. Ito BMW 320si 1m40.726s +2.641s
24 N. Taniguchi BMW 320si 1m41.468s +3.383s
25 K. Chen BMW 320si 1m41.929s +3.844s
26 H. Ho BMW 320si 1m42.307s +4.222s
27 M. Bennani BMW 320si -m—.---s +-.---s



Motorsport news