Citroën attack nets Ogier 2nd place

After SS13

By Franck Drui

31 July 2010 - 09:00
Citroën attack nets Ogier 2nd place

Citroen C4 WRC driver Sebastien Ogier moved ahead of Petter Solberg into second place on the 29km Vaarinmaja stage, slotting in 15.2sec behind rally leader Jari-Matti Latvala.

Ogier’s team-mate Sebastien Loeb was also on a charge - setting the fastest time and moving closer to a podium finish. Heading to the refuel before SS14, the Frenchman was just 8.2sec behind the newly relegated Solberg.

Petter was fifth fastest and said a lack of familiarity with the stages - a result of his retirement in Finland last year - had held him back.

Kimi Raikkonen dropped another three minutes to the leaders on SS13. The Finn’s car lost its front bumper and spoiler in his earlier off and also collected two damaged tyres. With only one spare, the Finn completed SS13 with just three fully inflated tyres.

Overall standings after SS13:

01 Jari-Matti LATVALA Ford Focus WRC 1h30m32.3s
02 Sébastien OGIER Citroën C4 WRC +15.2s
03 Petter SOLBERG Citroën C4 WRC +16.8s
04 Sébastien LOEB Citroën C4 WRC +25.0s
05 Dani SORDO Citroën C4 WRC +48.9s
06 Matthew WILSON Ford Focus WRC +3m16.4s
07 Juha KANKKUNEN Ford Focus WRC +4m04.6s
08 Mads ÖTSBERG Subaru Impreza WRC +4m47.2s
09 Juho HÄNNINEN Skoda Fabia S2000 +5m01.7s
10 Per Gunnar ANDERSSON Skoda Fabia S2000 +5m50.0s
11 Patrik SANDELL Skoda Fabia S2000 +6m29.7s
12 Toni GARDEMEISTER Ford Fiesta S2000 +6m36.3s
13 Martin PROKOP Ford Fiesta S2000 +7m26.6s
14 Mattias THERMAN Ford Focus WRC +7m31.4s
15 Janne TUOHINO Ford Fiesta S2000 +7m38.9s



Motorsport news