Brno: Menu tops Practice 1 for Chevrolet

Best time ahead of Tarquini and Huff

By Franck Drui

31 July 2010 - 10:01
Brno: Menu tops Practice 1 for Chevrolet

The FIA World Touring Car Championship took to Brno’s Automotodrom for the first time this weekend with Alain Menu (2:11.500) leading the way for Chevrolet in the first free practice.
Menu led for the majority of the 30-minute session ending the morning 0.2s ahead of reigning world champion Gabriele Tarquini (2:11.708) and teammate Rob Huff (2:11.866).

Colin Turkington (2:12.053) put in another strong performance in his eBay Motors BMW 320si finishing top independent in fourth. SR-Sport’s Jordi Gené (2:12.060) was fifth ahead of BMW Team RBM’s Andy Priaulx (2:12.127) who is looking for a strong result at the place where he scored his first victory for BMW in the European Touring Car Championship back in 2003.

Norbert Michelisz (2:12.284) continued his impressive showing off the back of a run of rookie victories, finishing top in the Rookie Challenge, seventh overall.

Stefano D’Aste (2:12.293) lost the back end of his BMW 320si at T4 spinning across the track while Morocco’s Mehdi Bennani (2:14.558) narrowly missed hitting the barrier after losing the back end and running into the gravel at T12. Both recovered to finish the session eighth and 20th respectively.

Augusto Farfus (2:12.301) was ninth ahead of 2009 Brno Race 2 winner Sergio Hernández (2:12.307) who also had a spin running wide at T9 but recovering in his BMW 320si.

Pos. Driver Car Time Gap
01 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 2m11.500s
02 G. Tarquini Seat Leon TDI 2m11.708s +0.208s
03 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 2m11.866s +0.366s
04 C. Turkington BMW 320si 2m12.053s +0.553s
05 J. Gene Seat Leon TDI 2m12.060s +0.560s
06 A. Priaulx BMW 320si 2m12.127s +0.627s
07 N. Michelisz Seat Leon TDI 2m12.284s +0.784s
08 S. D’Aste BMW 320si 2m12.293s +0.793s
09 A. Farfus BMW 320si 2m12.301s +0.801s
10 S. Hernandez BMW 320si 2m12.307s +0.807s
11 T. Monteiro Seat Leon TDI 2m12.465s +0.965s
12 D. O’Young Chevrolet Lacetti 2m12.541s +1.041s
13 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon TDI 2m12.568s +1.068s
14 T. Coronel Seat Leon TDI 2m12.675s +1.175s
15 F. Engstler BMW 320si 2m12.720s +1.220s
16 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 2m13.010s +1.510s
17 K. Poulsen BMW 320si 2m13.301s +1.801s
18 F. Barth Seat Leon TDI 2m13.568s +2.068s
19 H. Vaulkhard Chevrolet Lacetti 2m13.613s +2.113s
20 M. Bennani BMW 320si 2m14.558s +3.058s
21 A. Romanov BMW 320si 2m15.500s +4.000s
22 F. Fabiani BMW 320si 2m18.229s +6.729s



Motorsport news