The Asia Trophy goes to de Souza

The Macanese driver is champion


By Olivier Ferret

28 October 2014 - 08:42
The Asia Trophy goes to de Souza

Filipe Clemente de Souza is the champion of the 2014 WTCC Asia Trophy.

The Macanese driver at the wheel of a Liqui Moly team Engstler BMW 320 TC won four of the six rounds held so far in Beijing, Shanghai and Suzuka, collecting a total of 40 points.

The only other driver who has managed to score points in the trophy is Campos Racing’s Henry Kwong from Hong Kong who drove his SEAT León to victory in Suzuka’s Race 1.

However, even if Kwong would race again in Macau, his 10-point tally would not be enough for filling the gap from de Souza, as only 20 points are still at stake.

The first edition of the Asia Trophy was held in 2013 and was won by Japan’s Yukinori Taniguchi.


Motorsport news