Suzuka, Race 1: Menu wins from Huff and Nykjaer

Muller finishes fourth


By Olivier Ferret

23 October 2011 - 08:30
Suzuka, Race 1: Menu wins from Huff (...)

Alain Menu and Rob Huff claimed another 1-2 finish for Chevrolet, but they were definitely helped by the happenings of the race’s early stages.

At first, most of their main contenders – Robert Dahlgren, Tom Coronel, Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro – were eliminated in two different incidents at the start.

Later, Yvan Muller lost the lead and eventually dropped to fourth because of a wrong set up choice.

This made things easier for Menu (who pocketed his fourth victory of the season), Huff (who reduced the gap in the standings to ten points), and Nykjær (who claimed his first WTCC podium besides winning the Yokohama Trophy).

In front of his home crowd Yukinori Taniguchi too obtained his best result ever in the world championship by finishing seventh behind Colin Turkington.

Key moments
Start – two different incidents call the safety car in; Nykjær hits Dahlgren who spins and crashes; seconds after Coronel and Tarquini come together and cause a pile up that involves Monteiro, Villa, Barth and Yoshimoto. Only Tarquini and Villa can rejoin.
Lap 7 – the race resumes, Muller leads from Menu and Huff
Lap 8 – Menu overtakes Muller for the lead
Lap 9 – Oriola pits and rejoins after four laps
Lap 10 – Muller drops from second to fourth behind Huff and Nykjær, after a mistake
Lap 14 – Turkington overtakes Taniguchi for sixth
Lap 15 – Tarquini overtakes Michelisz for ninth
Lap 16 – Dudukalo spins at the exit of the final turn and avoids hitting the pit wall by inches
Lap 20 – Muller closes in on Nykjær who defends his third position
Lap 23 – Tarquini tries one last attempt to steal eighth place from Bennani, but in vain

R. Dahlgren: race incident; T. Monteiro: race incident; H. Yoshimoto, DNC: race incident; T. Coronel, DNC: race incident; F. Barth: race incident

Pos. Driver Car Time
01 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 25 laps - 25m50.919s
02 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +3.133s
03 M. Nykjaer SR Leon 1.6T +3.766s
04 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +4.441s
05 K. Poulsen BMW 320 TC +4.851s
06 C. Turkington BMW 320 TC +8.601s
07 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +13.472s
08 M. Bennani BMW 320 TC +13.730s
09 G. Tarquini SR Leon 1.6T +14.045s
10 N. Michelisz BMW 320 TC +14.478s
11 F. Engstler BMW 320 TC +15.950s
12 J. Villa BMW 320 TC +20.554s
13 D. O’Young Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +20.833s
14 M. Kano BMW 320 TC +25.889s
15 T. Arai Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +26.767s
16 C. Ng BMW 320 si +39.298s
17 A. Dudukalo SR Leon 1.6T +46.031s
18 P. Oriola SR Leon 1.6T +5 laps
19 H. Yoshimoto SR Leon 1.6T +14 laps
20 T. Coronel BMW 320 TC +20 laps
21 T. Monteiro SR Leon 1.6T DNF
22 R. Dahlgren Volvo C30 DNF
23 F. Fabiani BMW 320 si DNF
24 F. Barth SR Leon 1.6T DNF
Best lap A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 54.521


Motorsport news