Singapore GP || September 22 || 20h10 (Local time)

Spielberg, Qual.: Sirotkin snatches Spielberg pole position

ART Grand Prix driver denies Antonio Giovinazzi


By Olivier Ferret

1 July 2016 - 17:28
Spielberg, Qual.: Sirotkin snatches (...)

Sergey Sirotkin took his second pole position of the season in today’s qualifying session at the Red Bull Ring. The Russian driver set the fastest laptime in a 1:13.663 denying Antonio Giovinazzi by six thousandths. Pierre Gasly completed the top three.

The session opened once again in sunny conditions and warm temperatures. The drivers fed onto the track eager to put their Supersoft Pirelli tyres to good use. Sirotkin was quick to set the early pace but Gasly was the first man to dip under 1m14s, lapping the Austrian track in a 1:13.974 and claiming the provisional pole.

Halfway through the session, the cars returned to the pits for fresh rubber. With ten minutes left on the clock, Alex Lynn led the final charge. On a busy track, Sirotkin found a clear lap to clock in a laptime of 1:13.663 - almost a second better than last year’s pole, and went top. Giovinazzi lit the first sector in purple and was on a flyer but went too wide in the final corner. The Italian driver had to settle for P2 ahead of teammate Gasly who also improved but not enough to start from the front row. On his final attempt, rookie Luca Ghiotto found some extra pace to move up to P4; his best qualifying result this season. The session ended under yellow flags after Jimmy Eriksson stopped at Turn 7.

At the chequered flag, behind the top three, Ghiotto, Artem Markelov, Raffaele Marciello, Oliver Rowland, Lynn, Norman Nato and Mitch Evans rounded up the top ten.

1. Sergey Sirotkin ART Grand Prix 1:13.663 14
2. Antonio Giovinazzi PREMA Racing 1:13.669 15
3. Pierre Gasly PREMA Racing 1:13.803 14
4. Luca Ghiotto Trident 1:14.091 15
5. Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1:14.099 14
6. Raffaele Marciello RUSSIAN TIME 1:14.184 13
7. Oliver Rowland MP Motorsport 1:14.316 13
8. Alex Lynn DAMS 1:14.387 13
9. Norman Nato Racing Engineering 1:14.456 15
10. Mitch Evans Pertamina Campos Racing 1:14.574 14
11. Nabil Jeffri Arden International 1:14.626 14
12. Marvin Kirchhöfer Carlin 1:14.647 14
13. Arthur Pic Rapax 1:14.688 15
14. Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:14.815 15
15. Sergio Canamasas Carlin 1:14.832 15
16. René Binder ART Grand Prix 1:14.886 12
17. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:14.958 15
18. Gustav Malja Rapax 1:15.020 15
19. Sean Gelael Pertamina Campos Racing 1:15.112 14
20. Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport 1:15.307 14
21. Jimmy Eriksson Arden International 1:15.531 12
22. Philo Paz Armand Trident 1:15.675 15


Motorsport news