Silverstone, FP: Gasly on top in Free Practice

Frenchman leads the way in Silverstone

By Franck Drui

8 July 2016 - 14:30
Silverstone, FP: Gasly on top in (…)

Pierre Gasly has started his Silverstone weekend in fine form after topping the timesheets in this morning’s Free Practice session at the fabled British circuit, leading the way from Sergey Sirotkin and Arthur Pic.

The Red Bull tester stopped the clocks at 1:39.890 a third of the way through the competitive session, taking advantage of the warmer conditions after practice commenced under ominously overcast conditions.

Pic was the first man to set a competitive time just five minutes into the session, and the floodgates were opened: Gasly, Jordan King, Alex Lynn, Pic and Sirotkin all claimed the top spot briefly, but at the fifteen minute mark Gasly set the time that would not be beaten before the majority of the field returned to the pits for their second set of tyres.

With the second half of the session used to work on race pace there was little chance of an improvement in times, and so it proved. A brief virtual safety car period broken up the session as the marshals moved quickly to remove Luca Ghiotto’s halted Trident from Turn 3 at the thirty minute mark, but there was little else to concern the teams as the rest of the grid kept their powder dry ahead of this afternoon’s Qualifying session.

Behind the top three Antonio Giovinazzi, Lynn, Norman Nato, Oliver Rowland, King, Nobuharu Matsushita and Artem Markelov were all within a second of the top time and will be looking to push forward in just a few hours time.

1. Pierre Gasly PREMA Racing 1:39.890 18
2. Sergey Sirotkin ART Grand Prix 1:40.045 17
3. Arthur Pic Rapax 1:40.154 20
4. Antonio Giovinazzi PREMA Racing 1:40.217 19
5. Alex Lynn DAMS 1:40.227 20
6. Norman Nato Racing Engineering 1:40.249 17
7. Oliver Rowland MP Motorsport 1:40.365 16
8. Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:40.507 19
9. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:40.647 19
10. Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1:40.671 19
11. Mitch Evans Pertamina Campos Racing 1:40.704 18
12. Luca Ghiotto Trident 1:40.760 10
13. Raffaele Marciello RUSSIAN TIME 1:40.888 17
14. Marvin Kirchhöfer Carlin 1:40.959 17
15. Sergio Canamasas Carlin 1:41.111 18
16. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:41.215 19
17. Nabil Jeffri Arden International 1:41.696 18
18. Gustav Malja Rapax 1:41.705 21
19. Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport 1:42.426 18
20. Sean Gelael Pertamina Campos Racing 1:42.594 21
21. Philo Paz Armand Trident 1:42.685 20
22. Jimmy Eriksson Arden International 1:43.034 18



Motorsport news