Salzburgring, FP1: Lopez sets the pace

Coronel was best of the rest



24 May 2014 - 10:07
Salzburgring, FP1: Lopez sets the (...)

A bright sky welcomed WTCC drivers for the first practice session of the day.

The Citroën trio of José María López, Yvan Muller and Sébastien Loeb posted the best lap times in the early stages. Loeb clocked a provisional fastest lap of 1:23.342 that was soon beaten by Muller’s 1:22.968; however it was López who set the session’s mark of 1:22.771. Later Loeb improved to 1:23.221, but remained in third position.

Tom Coronel was best of the rest and placed his Chevrolet RML in fourth position (1:23.253) ahead of Hugo Valente’s identical car (1:23.321).

The best Honda cars were Gabriele Tarquini’s (1:23.342) and Norbert Michelisz’s (1:23.508) in sixth and seventh respectively. Tom Chilton, Tiago Monteiro and Dušan Borković rounded off the top ten who were all covered by eighth tenths.

Franz Engstler emerged as the fastest in the TC2T class with a lap of 1:27.693.

Halfway through the session, the red flag disrupted activities after Pasquale Di Sabatino’s BMW spun at Turn 10, hit the barrier and remained stranded in the gravel trap.

When the session resumed Hugo Valente lost his Chevrolet at the braking point of Turn 1 and spun, but managed to rejoin with no damage. A few moments later James Thompson’s LADA pirouetted at Turn 11, but the Englishman was able to regain control and avoid hitting the barriers.

The red flagged was waved a second time with one minute left on the clock when Mikhail Kozlovskiy’s LADA slowed down and stopped on the track following an electrical problem.

The second practice will start at 11:00.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:22.771
2 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:22.968
3 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:23.221
4 Tom CORONEL Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.253
5 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.321
6 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC 1:23.342
7 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC 1:23.508
8 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.570
9 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC 1:23.581
10 Dusan BORKOVIC Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.587
11 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC 1:23.689
12 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.750
13 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T 1:24.318
14 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:24.421
15 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T 1:24.688
16 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T 1:25.625
17 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC 1:27.693
18 Pasquale DI SABATINO BMW E90 320 TC 1:28.668
19 John FILIPPI Seat Leon WTCC 1:28.919


Motorsport news