SS7: Wilks takes first Ypres stage victory

"I took a different tyre to Freddy in the hope it would pay off later in the loop"



25 June 2011 - 12:15
SS7: Wilks takes first Ypres stage (...)

Guy Wilks has claimed his first GEKO Ypres Rally stage victory aboard his Peugeot UK 207 Super 2000. The Briton edged event leader Freddy Loix by 0.4s over Saturday’s opening run, the 14.76-kilometre Proven-Vleteren test.

Wilks opted for a soft slick tyre with heavy cuts in the hope it would improve his performance when, as expected, the roads dry out later in the day.

“I took a different tyre to Freddy in the hope it would pay off later in the loop,” said Wilks. “It was very tricky and slippery towards the end and you’re not sure how much mud there is on the exit of corners. You have to take care.”

Loix, who selected intermediate tyres for the damp but drying conditions, said: “It’s a difficult day for everybody,” he said. “If it’s not raining and only wet on the road then I’m in a good position for sure.”

Pieter Tsjoen, who remains third overall, has never driven his Peugeot 207 in wet conditions before. “It’s difficult for me to know which rhythm I should be in,” said the Belgian rally champion.

Giandomencio Basso is reported to have gone off the road in his PROTON Satria Neo S2000. Thierry Neuville, who has restarted under SupeRally regulations, was also delayed completing the stage.

Overall positions after SS7

1 Loix Freddy / Miclotte Fréderic Škoda Fabia S2000 59m36.3s
2 Wilks Guy / Pugh Phil Peugeot 207 S2000 +36.3s
3 Tsjoen Pieter / Vanneste Lara Peugeot 207 S2000 +1m10.2s
4 Bouffier Bryan / Panseri Xavier Peugeot 207 S2000 +1m16.4s
5 Weijs Hans / Degandt Bjorn Škoda Fabia S2000 +1m41.0s
6 Casier Bernd / Caesemaeker Francis Škoda Fabia S2000 +1m52.3s
7 Gardemeister Toni / Suominen Tapio Škoda Fabia S2000 +2m00.8s
8 Snijers Patrick / Gitsels Johan Mini John Cooper Works S2000 +2m15.8s
9 Sołowow Michal / Baran Maciej Ford Fiesta S2000 +2m31.8s
10 Rossetti Luca / Chiarcossi Matteo Fiat Grande Punto S2000 +2m38.2s
11 Kruuda Karl / Järveoja Martin Škoda Fabia S2000 +2m39.8s
12 Betti Luca / Barone Maurizio Peugeot 207 S2000 +2m44.8s
13 Ten Brinke Bernhard / Thierie Davy Škoda Fabia S2000 +3m22.4s
14 Abbring Kevin / Mombaerts Erwin Citroën DS3 R3T +3m32.1s
15 Van Eldik Mark / Buysmans Robin Škoda Fabia S2000 +3m36.1s

Motorsport news