SS3: Neuville snatches lead in Cyprus

“I prefer asphalt and I pushed very hard, to the maximum”


By Olivier Ferret

4 November 2011 - 12:05
SS3: Neuville snatches lead in (...)

Thierry Neuville has snatched the lead of the Cyprus Rally by winning stage three, the 18.16-kilometre Salamiou test.

Driving a Team Peugeot Belgium-Luxembourg 207 Super 2000, Neuville was 11.2s faster than last year’s Cyprus winner Nasser Al-Attiyah in an M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000. As a result he leads overall by 8.8s.

IRC title leader Jan Kopecký, in a ŠKODA Motorsport Fabia S2000, was third fastest with former pacesetter Andreas Mikkelsen fourth quickest after suffering a spin in his ŠKODA UK Fabia.

“We lost eight to 10 seconds,” said Mikkelsen, who slips to second overall. “I was coming into a loose section and lost the rear. It was my fault but we have to push to stay in front.”

Neuville said he relished the predominantly asphalt-based stage: “I prefer asphalt and I pushed very hard, to the maximum.”

Crews are now heading back to Pafos for a regroup and service halt. Stage four, the second Koilinia test, gets underway at 14:47hrs.

1 Neuville T. / Gilsoul Nicolas Peugeot 207 S2000 35m12.1s
2 Mikkelsen Andreas / Floene Ola Škoda Fabia S2000 +8.8s
3 Kopecký Jan / Starý Petr Škoda Fabia S2000 +21.2s
4 Al-Attiyah N. / Bernacchini G. Ford Fiesta S2000 +25.2s
5 Sandell Patrik / Parmander S. Škoda Fabia S2000 +56.2s
6 Loix Freddy / Dresler Pavel Škoda Fabia S2000 +1m01.1s
7 Kruuda Karl / Järveoja M. Škoda Fabia S2000 +1m28.1s
8 Kahle Matthias / Göbel Peter Škoda Fabia S2000 +1m46.1s
9 Arai Toshihiro / Moscatt Dale Subaru Impreza Sti R4 +2m00.9s
10 Wallenwein Mark / Kopczyk Stefan Škoda Fabia S2000 +2m01.6s
11 Thomas Nicos / Loizides A. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +2m22.2s
12 Panteli Petros / Panteli C. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +3m20.1s
13 Raoux J. / Magat Laurent Renault Clio R3 +3m52.3s
14 Timotheou C. / Laos Pambos Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +4m05.7s
15 Loucaides Doros / Laos Savvas Peugeot 207 S2000 +4m12.1s

Motorsport news