SS3: Door drama for Delecour, Breen again

Three stages and three scratchs for the Irish driver



1 February 2013 - 18:35
SS3: Door drama for Delecour, Breen (...)

François Delecour continues to belie his 50 years by setting the second fastest time on Friday’s final test, despite completing much of the 18.73-kilometre LDz Cargo stage with his car’s door open.

Delecour was 2.8s slower than stage winner and fellow Peugeot 207 Super 2000 driver Craig Breen to close up to Jari Ketomaa in the battle for second overall on Rally Liepāja-Ventspils, round two of the FIA European Rally Championship. Ketomaa, in a Ford Fiesta RRC, is 3.0s behind Breen.

“It was just impossible to close the door,” Delecour told ERC Rally Radio’s Julian Porter at the stage finish. “Every right turn it was coming open, sometimes in sixth gear. I drove most of the stage like this.”

There was disappointment for Vasily Gryazin, who started the stage in sixth overall but has plummeted down the order after damaging the rear suspension of his Mitsubishi Lancer hitting something in the dark.

Jan Černý’s brake woes continue with the Czech reporting that he only has working brakes on three corners of his ŠKODA Fabia Super 2000.

Crews are now heading back to Liepāja for overnight service via an autograph signing session in the city. Saturday’s action begins with the second running of LDz Cargo at 10:20hrs local time.

1 2 IRL Breen Craig / Moynihan David Peugeot 207 S2000 22m15.4s
2 1 FIN Ketomaa Jari / Lindström Kaj Ford Fiesta S2000 +6.4
3 3 FRA Delecour F. / Savignoni D. Peugeot 207 S2000 +12.1
4 6 RUS Lukyanuk Alexey / Arnautov Alexey Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +32.7
5 9 LTU Švedas V. / Sakalauskas Ž. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +50.8
6 7 EST Plangi Siim / Sarapuu Marek Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X R4 +59.4
7 10 LVA Kisiels R. / Ronis Arnis Mini John Cooper Works S2000 +1:01.0
8 21 UKR Pushkar Vitaliy / Mishyn Ivan Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X R4 +1:02.7
9 16 LVA Egle Aivis / Dauga Andis Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +1:07.8
10 4 CZE Cerný Jan / Kohout Pavel Škoda Fabia S2000 +1:26.7
11 14 EST Jeets Raul / Toom Andrus Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +1:26.9
12 19 HUN Szabó Gergély / Borbely Karoly Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X R4 +1:30.1
13 8 CZE Orsák Jaroslav / Šmeidler David Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +1:50.4
14 17 HUN Turán Frigyes / Zsiros Gábor Subaru Impreza Sti R4 +1:53.5
15 29 FRA Lefebvre S. / Dubois Thomas Peugeot 208 R2 +2:00.3
16 31 FIN Immonen Risto / Lukka Mikko Citroën C2 R2 Max +2:10.9
17 24 AUT Danzinger H. / Wüstenhagen K. Renault Clio R3 +2:33.6
18 11 HUN Puskádi János / Godor Barna Škoda Fabia S2000 +2:35.7
19 5 CZE Tlusták A. / Vyoral Lukáš Škoda Fabia S2000 +2:40.9
20 18 LTU Kvaraciejus R. / Cepulis M. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +2:44.7

Motorsport news